RSS

o.0 What in the Sam Hell?

26 Aug

What does that even mean, anyway?  What in the Sam Hell?  Who is Sam Hell?

Praise Google.

Apparently it’s Sam Hill.  Maybe it was the dialect of Ohio that made me think it was Hell.  Regardless.

And now Praise Wikipedia:

Sam Hill (euphemism)

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation, search

Sam Hill is an American English slang phrase, a euphemism or minced oath for “the devil” or “hell” personified (as in, “What in the Sam Hill is that?”). Etymologist Michael Quinion and others date the expression back to the late 1830s;[1][2] they and others[3] consider the expression to have been a simple bowdlerization, with, according to the Oxford English Dictionary, an unknown origin.

So I’m apparently not too far off.

What is the reason for my Sam Hill?  Well, Sam Hill doesn’t know what it is to work at Bath and Body Works.  Now, I’m not saying it’s bad.  It’s actually rather fun.  And it’s a relaxed environment.  But the pay sucks.  And the hours suck.  And it’s a whole lot of Suck Sam Hill…  That sounds HORRIBLE.  A whole lot of Sam Hill Suck?  I’m not going to get anywhere with Suck, am I?

STOP.

The reason I’m not liking this is that I am being paid not enough for what they’re expecting me to do.  Manager?  $9?  What?  It’s a tad ridiculous.  And overwhelming.  It’s like a bottle of lotion an hour.  Before taxes.  What in the Sam Hill am I going to do with that?  Sucky thing 2:  the hours.  It’s all evening.  SUCK.  Which means that Sam Hill and I are at Bath and Body Works together while Mike is at home…after work…without me or Sam Hill.  And it’s part-time.  So I’m working between 20-30 hours a week.  Okay, fine.  JUST MAKE THEM DAYTIME.  Ugh.

I think Sam Hill is going to be my new imaginary friend who I can bitch to while I’m training.

Solution:

Housegirlfriendry not so fun as there are no babies or puppies to care for.

Retail is not fun because I am not being paid the amount I expect, and I never see Mike, and I am having an affair with Sam Hill.

And I do believe housewifery is far off…because I do not have a job that I am completely happy with.  And it has nothing to do with my degrees.  And Mike won’t marry an unhappy housegirlfriend who is gallivanting about with Sam Hill.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2010 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “o.0 What in the Sam Hell?

  1. Danielle

    August 26, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    I say quit the job, get a dog, and stay at home!;-)

     
    • erica42285

      August 27, 2010 at 3:55 pm

      Ha ha! I agree…except my student loans aren’t going to pay themselves. Sigh.

       
  2. seltzernwine

    August 29, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    HAHAHA! YOU. ARE. AMAZING

     
  3. Seth Hrabovsky

    August 30, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    I was making 11 an hr full time at Staples same position after 2 yrs. 9 aint bad for a start.

     

Leave a Reply

 
