RSS

New Home

29 Sep

Red maple leaves drift like cardinals to the concrete.  The wind swirls into visibility.  Beams of sunlight angle into the windows as though from a cracked kaleidoscope.

It is Autumn in Ohio, and I am standing on the crackling leaves of my first September without school.  So many things have happened.  So many emotions.

Let’s start at the beginning.  I got a job, a wonderful job, with Foundation Software.  I’m the new Marketing Writer and I love everything that is happening with it.  I started today, and while it was a lot of information all at once, it was incredible.  There is so much to learn and so many opportunities.  And the truth is that I am thrilled to have a job that allows me to write for a living.

Brunswick, Ohio is where I live now.  I love Ohio, and it feels good to be back.  I’ve always felt at home here, and I thought that was something that would never change.  But the truth is that it has a little bit.  My home is no longer a place.  It’s a state of mind, a state of place, a state of company.  The only thing that makes me feel like I am where I belong is being next to Mike.  I miss Franklin because I miss Mike.  And it’s absolutely no fun lying down at night alone.  But there are the weekends.  We’ll always have the weekends.  He says he won’t read my blog, but if he does, I hope he knows that I am completely devoted to him.

So I rented a one bedroom apartment, filled it with all of my things, and even though I write from a papasan cushion on the floor, I feel like I might be okay.  It’s certainly scary.  There is no one there to kill spiders, and nowhere for my bird feeder.  I don’t know anyone in town.  There is no Mike to curl up on.  But this all feels good.  The job feels good.  I feel confident.  I don’t feel like I wasted seven years of my life in school, and I am slowly, but surely, understanding what it is to be an adult.

Stuff is expensive.  Bills suck.  But you know what?  It’s rewarding.

Pictures when I get settled.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2010 in Domesticity

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “New Home

  1. beckygermain

    October 4, 2010 at 9:48 am

    There is something so exciting/liberating about being on your own for the first time. It’s sort of scary, but it’s great.

    Learning to be an adult was really difficult to me. I have always resisted the notion that you have to work your life away. I am always reminding my workaholic husband that there is more to life than that. Now that some time has passed, I’ve learned to resent spending so much time at work and away from my family a little less, but I admit, I’ll probably always be working for the weekends. It’s cool that you are finding some peace with all of that earlier than I did. I will certainly make the transition easier for you, lol.

    Congrats on the job!

     
  2. erika

    November 4, 2010 at 2:52 am

    just found out you had a blog.. . and that you moved back to ohio! welcome back (figuratively speaking.. since i’m not actually living in ohio to do any kind of welcoming, hah) ! cleveland isn’t too far from detroit. 😉

    hope all is fab – congrats on the job !!

    hearts,
    erika

     

Leave a Reply

 
