RSS

Today’s Playlist

16 Nov

Today we’re doing favorites, as I am deviating away from the serious questions, to be revisited at a later time.

Today we will address my favorite song.

Favorite Song: How can you ask someone to pick one favorite song?  Of course it changes as new songs come out, as old ones are overplayed, and as you listen to something so many times you can’t remember why you liked it to begin with.  It’s kind of like say any one word over and over again.  It begins to lose its meaning.  So contrary to popular belief, I think a favorite song should be one that you don’t get to hear very often.  And because this day in age, it is ridiculous to ask someone to pick one favorite song, I am going to do an assignment that I made my creative writing classes do when I was teaching at the University of North Carolina Wilmington.  Define criteria for favorite songs, and list 5-10 of them, explaining why each is important and fits into the list.

Criteria: A song that makes me feel something today.  That is all.  In no specific order:

1)  “Walking in Memphis” by Marc Cohn:  I can’t help it.  Goosebumps every time.  And I don’t even care about Elvis.

They’ve got catfish on the table
They’ve got gospel in the air
And Reverend Green be glad to see you
When you haven’t got a prayer
But boy you’ve got a prayer in Memphis

Now Muriel plays piano
Every Friday at the Hollywood
And they brought me down to see her
And they asked me if I would —
Do a little number
And I sang with all my might
And she said —
“Tell me are you a Christian child?”
And I said “Ma’am I am tonight”

I don’t know if it’s how Cohn sings it, or if it’s the idea that you’ve got a prayer at this very second, or that a place can make you feel like a Christian even if you aren’t.  It’s such an incredible sensation when I hear it…like I can’t be bothered to understand anything else but what it is to feel.  It’s primal and sophisticated all at the same time.

2)  “All Right Now” by Free:  Put it on in the car and drive.  And then I dare you not to smile.  Sometimes you just need carefree music, and this is that song.

I said, “A-hey, what’s your name, baby?
Maybe we can see things the same
Now don’t you wait or hesitate
Let’s move before they raise the parking rate.”

People will flirt forever.  And prices will always go up.  And who doesn’t love the word “A-hey”?

3)  “Never Say Goodbye” by Bon Jovi:  If you know anything about me, you knew that Bon Jovi would have a song on this list.  I tried to stay away from the super popular songs (I could have easily listed “Living on a Prayer” or “Wanted Dead or Alive”), but there’s something so reminiscent about “Never Say Goodbye”.  It’s cheesy in the best of ways.

Remember days of skipping school
Racing cars and being cool
With a six pack and the radio
We didn’t need no place to go

Remember at the prom that night
You and me we had a fight
But the band they played our favorite song
And I held you in my arms so strong

We danced so close
We danced so slow
And I swore I’d never let you go
Together – forever.

Growing up is for the birds.

4)  “Hallelujah” by Jeff Buckley:  It’s almost too good to not list every lyric.  It’s haunting.  And it’s lovely and wonderful and scary.  It’s faith, sex, love, history, everything.

hallelujah…

baby i’ve been here before
i’ve seen this room and i’ve walked this floor
i used to live alone before i knew you
i’ve seen your flag on the marble arch
but love is not a victory march
it’s a cold and it’s a broken hallelujah

hallelujah…

5)  “Alabama” by Cross Canadian Ragweed:  It’s all about longing and loving.  And knowing.  It’s crazy how you feel as a kid…and how you can still remember it as an adult.  Plus, as much as we try as human beings, we never tie up all those loose ends.  And we always end up somewhere we’ve been before in some way or another.

She said maybe I miss your lovin’
Maybe I miss your kiss just a little bit
Maybe I miss your body lyin’ right next to mine
Maybe I miss your touch a little too much

Tossing and turning her skins still burning
From the fire in his hands
Runnin’ on empty she needs somebody

They talked about Savannah
Sweet home Alabama
And how he missed the way she always smiled
Are you coming back soon
By the Harvest moon
If I have to walk every mile on my knees

Hope you enjoyed.  I’d love to hear your feedback.  What songs do you listen to over and over again?  Which are novelties?  What are your top 5 today?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 16, 2010 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
