RSS

Goodbye 2010

30 Dec

What a year…

I went back to Wilmington for my final semester of graduate school, to live in North Carolina for the last time.

I wrote a book, did a thesis reading, and graduated with my MFA.

I met up with Mike in Wytheville, Virginia in January because we couldn’t stand not seeing each other.

We met up again in Pipestem State Park in West Virginia for our 1-year anniversary.

I turned 25.

My parents came down to help me leave North Carolina and we stayed at The Pearl in Carolina Beach for one of the best vacations EVER.

I watched the sun rise over the ocean  my last morning in North Carolina, alone on the balcony.

I lived with a boy (who was my boyfriend, not my roommate Kyle from NC) for the first time.  And I began living in my second state of the year, Pennsylvania, with Mike.

I got a washing machine and a dryer (which I was truly excited about).

I spent months looking for a job in higher education.

I took a retail job at Bath and Body Works.

I got an amazing job in Brunswick, Ohio doing what I never even realized I wanted to do.

I moved to Ohio to live in my third state of the year.

I moved away from Mike.

I began living for the first time completely on my own.

I got my first apartment.

I bought a brand new vehicle.

I woke up with Mike on Christmas morning.

And now 2010 is ending.  It will culminate in Ashland, Ohio, either at a bar, or at the house of my college roommate and her husband.  Either way, I will be with Mike and with friends.  It’s weird to see 2010 end.  I thought things were going to be drastically different.  Because of certain circumstances prior to Mike, I thought this was the year I would get married–which I’m wildly glad I didn’t.

I’m happy to be where I am and I am happy to have everything the way it is.  I complain a lot, but this has been a good year.  Hell, it’s been a good life.

3 states in 2010.  Let’s try to keep it to one this year.  And let’s try to get Mike here, to Ohio.  🙂

Happy New Year, everyone!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 30, 2010 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Goodbye 2010

  1. Erin Seabolt Bond

    December 30, 2010 at 10:29 am

    Have you read Joan Didion’s “Goodbye to All That”? This reminds me a little of that, in bullet form. “Goodbye to All That” is my absolute favorite essay of all time.

     
    • erica42285

      December 30, 2010 at 10:31 am

      I have! Many times at UNCW, and I think a few times before that, too.

      I did enjoy that essay. I think now I finally understand it to the fullest extent, though. 🙂

      Happy New Year, Erin!

       

Leave a Reply

 
