RSS

Lent and Femininity

21 Mar

First off–this is a call to all those tech folks who understand how to edit CSS/HTML/BLAH BLAH BLAH in WordPress.  I’ve revamped the site, and I am still not happy with it.  I want the blue buttons to be orange.  That is all.  If you can help me with that, I will buy you a beer.

Second, I had an awesome anniversary weekend!  I haven’t uploaded the pictures yet, but I’ll do so tomorrow so that I can post them here.  Sorry for my latency!

To tide you over until the mushy romantic photos of tomorrow, I’ve decided to talk a little bit about LENT and FEMININITY.

First off, I’m Catholic, so I’m sticking to this no-meat on Fridays, and giving something up.  I thought about giving up alcohol (but my anniversary was Saturday, and I knew I’d want champagne) and I thought about giving up sweets (but that just seems selfish, as I would only be doing it to lose weight).  So I decided to give up cussing (or at least cut back momentarily, until I can train myself to quit it).

Mind you, this is a LOT harder than it seems.  Things have so much more gusto w/ “d*mn” or “h*ll” in front of them.  All my derns, dangs and hot diggities just don’t rile me or others up as much as I’d like.

I started thinking about all the times that people told me I talk like a sailor/mechanic/man.  I always smiled and thanked them–which I realized is a pretty feminist thing to do…or is it?  I guess in my mind, I was being told I talked blue collar.  I like blue collar, and I relish the fact that people see me that way.

Some say that women shouldn’t swear, though.  SOME.  And yes, I get that we’re supposed to be a little daintier than our brawny lumberjack men, but sometimes a good swear word is exactly what you need–man or woman.

A lot can be said for the tone in which something is said.  I’ve been more afraid of my mother when she wasn’t cussing, but rather talking through gritted teeth.  Same goes with my father.  And saying that makes me feel like a dog-ha ha.  But really, isn’t a swear word just a word?  I mean, without human involvement, it doesn’t mean anything.  It’s an arrangement of the characters that we call the English Alphabet.  So what?

But we define good and bad, because we need boundaries and definitions (ahem, man and woman) and sometimes those swear words just aren’t right in certain situations.

So is it feminist of me to want to talk like a sailor?  Or is it anti-feminist?  Or am I just using a word as a word, regardless of who it’s assigned to?

I believe that words are one of the tools provided equally to men and to women.  We can all say them, and to my knowledge (feel free to prove me wrong here), there has never been a law prohibiting someone from saying certain words.  Sounds like equality, freedom, and goodness to me.

Anniversary pictures tomorrow!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2011 in Domesticity

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Lent and Femininity

  1. B

    March 21, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    Well, the color is hex code 0097a5. I THINK the style sheet it’s in is http://s2.wp.com/wp-content/themes/pub/liquorice/style.css?m=1300473268g. I’m not sure how your blog is set up. But if you can find the style sheet where you edit colors, just search for the hex code and change it to the color you want. Don’t change them all unless you want all instances of that blue to be orange.

     
    • B

      March 21, 2011 at 1:09 pm

      I was trying to inspect the button and accidentally clicked it before I was done. 😛 I was going to say it might be an image but I can’t tell, so you might need to change an image in the style sheet. If you can access the style sheet, go ahead and send it to me and I’ll take a look for you.

       
      • B

        March 21, 2011 at 1:09 pm

        Goshdang it, forgot to say I love this layout. 🙂

         
      • erica42285

        March 21, 2011 at 1:14 pm

        Hey there! I did look at it–and it seems to me that it’s a button. I’m really no good at this stuff, so if you’d like to take a look at it, you’re more than welcome. Email me and I’ll give you the info. I’ll let you hack my site. 😉

         
  2. Lil Desiqua

    March 22, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    Changing layouts is a pain in the butt!!

    Oooh, cussing is a good one. I gave up soda since I have at least one can a day. Good luck!

    Congrats on 2 years!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
