RSS

Giving a Manly Name

25 Mar

If I have sons (and Mike is very convinced that he is so manly that he will only make boys), I want them to have strong, manly names.  Heck, cowboy names, even.  Because I really think a name says a lot about a person.  When I yell for him to come in off the street, I want that name to be severe, to be yelled with a drawl.

Little boys with manly names make me think of boys who will turn out to be great men-boys with morals who will make those around him better people.  He’s the man that girls will swoon after, but he’ll be too polite to notice.  Until that one girl…

Perhaps I’m thinking too much about this.  But a name DOES affect who you turn into.  I’ve come to that conclusion since my last post on names.   So below is a list of names I will consider for my little cowboys. 

Burke
Coleman
West
Hayes
Cannon
Shiloh
Riley

Rhett
Dalton
Holden
Gage
Sawyer
Hudson
Hunter
Austin
Beau
Gunner
Walker
Dalton
Dawson
Chance
Chase
Casey

Tons more here!

Any other ideas?

Happy Friday!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 25, 2011 in Domesticity

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Giving a Manly Name

  1. Danielle

    March 25, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    I love so many of those names!!! Of course I’ll be honored when you choose Chase or Walker 😉

    When we were trying to find names for Chayce we decided we didn’t want his name to be able to be shortened and we wanted it to be original. We fell in love with Chayce, and he was the only Chayce I knew, until I found out a fellow Fremonter also named her son Chayce, and BEFORE our Chayce was born! Talk about disappointment lol.

    Nick always says that Chayce is a good baseball players name. S we have high hopes!!!

    I do have to ask, do you have girl’s names picked out as well???

     
    • erica42285

      March 25, 2011 at 1:04 pm

      I do have girls’ names picked out–but the list is much shorter, as I already know what I want. For that reason, I can’t put them online. It would break my heart if someone used them before I could.

      Two of the names in the list for the boys names are my favorites, but I wasn’t going to distinguish for the same reason.

      I’m a selfish name-hog!

       
      • Danielle

        March 25, 2011 at 1:47 pm

        Pssh I don’t blame you!! Keep those names under wraps. People are name thieves for sure! 😉

         
  2. Jarvis Slacks

    March 26, 2011 at 10:03 am

    I’ve decided that my son will have a girl’s name and my daughter will have a boy’s name. Kelly for the boy, for instance, and Danny for the girl. Just because I want them to spend a huge chuck of their lives in constant understand that people are stupid and they are much smarter than everyone else. Also, because I think it’s sort of funny.

     
  3. Joline

    March 26, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    I think you have Dalton on there twice, dear. Bruce and I constantly fight about names…we never like the same name. He likes something more “country” like Gunner or Hunter (although I get an out on those because I have two cousins with those names) while I prefer something a little more unique. Whatever you pick, make sure it has a great story to go with it, or at least a very special meaning. There are three things I love about my name: It’s unique, it rhymes (if you include my middle names) and my mom has this awesome story about how she picked it!
    ~Joline Lorraine Francine Scott

     
    • erica42285

      March 28, 2011 at 7:33 am

      I did do Dalton twice. Ha ha woops…

       

Leave a Reply

 
