RSS

Raising My Youngins-Playing In the Dirt

31 Mar

Even though my ovaries are in a constant state of glow these days, I’m pretty thankful that I do NOT have children yet.  I mean, I see how much stuff costs…not to mention I’ve been looking at a $700 purse on eBay.    Don’t wig out on me, I’m not gonna buy it.

But I also get to learn from those around me who are having children.  I like the way my parents raised me, but I was never aware that I was being raised, so I didn’t really pay attention.  Now I look around and see parents (my friends and strangers) raising children.  Sometimes I think, “BRAVO!  Now that is great parenting!” Other times, it’s, “Note to self:  Lord have mercy, please don’t ever let me think to do this to my child.”

NOTE TO YOU:  Before you start defending your parenting techniques to me, DON’T.

So then I stumbled across this blog called Rules for My Unborn Son and I thought, “BRAVO!”  I’d like to do that!  Or at least discuss it so that people might change my mind.  Occasionally now, I will post about how I will raise my children.  And today, the post concerns DIRT.

I say let them get dirty.  Let them play in mounds of dirt.  H*ll, let them EAT dirt. It’s freaking fun, and you can do so much with it!  Draw in it, make mud out of it, throw it at each other.  Dirt’s a FREE easy toy, and kids look darn cute covered in it.  Who cares about the mess–they’re having fun.  I had plenty of fun in the dirt–digging to China for instance.  Also, there’s no better track for Matchbox cars than dirt, and nothing can cool you on a hot day like slapping some mud on your forehead.  Not to mention that sometimes, it tastes good.  My God, if dirt feeds anything, it’s the soul!

For the longest time, even before I did this research, I figured that dirt was healthy.  How is it now?  Everyone preaches about exposing their children to “natural” things and “organic” things.  Well how much more organic can you get than dirt?  Yeah, I know there’s stuff in there that’s not totally natural, but GET OVER IT.  There’s stuff in EVERYTHING that is not totally natural.  Let them eat dirt.

Some say kids who play in dirt are less prone to diabetes.  Others just insist that it’s good for ’em.

“So let your child be a child. Dirt is good. If your child isn’t coming in dirty every day, they’re not doing their job. They’re not building their immunological army. So it’s terribly important.”

Letting kids play in the dirt, Hill pointed out, is the first of five immune-system-building steps parents should take for their kids.

Next, “absolutely” wash using regular soap, not the antibacterial kind. “This is one of the (reasons) I suspect I’m not going to be getting a Valentine card from the sellers of antibacterial washes!” Ruebush remarked.

I totally agree.  🙂  I’m ahead of my time–or behind on it.  All I’m saying is that most of us today got here b/c our parents weren’t yanking us out of mud piles and dousing us in Anti-Bacterial stuff.  We got here and we’re strong because we lived in the world, and didn’t try to avoid it.

CHEERS!  You dirty little freaks.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2011 in Domesticity, Raising My Youngins

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Raising My Youngins-Playing In the Dirt

  1. Danielle

    March 31, 2011 at 11:33 am

    Unfortunately, we don’t really have any dirt patches at our place, but we always let Chayce play in puddles after it rains! We’re planning a garden this year so we’ll have to make a man-made dirt patch 🙂

     
  2. soldierturnedwriter

    March 31, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    Yeah, I completely agree. Cindy tries to get me to use hand sanitizer every time I go to hold Mary after work. Now granted, I do work in a less than sanitary warehouse, but she is going to get the bugs somewhere. Why not get them while spending time with her daddy? When she gets older, I would love nothing more than to make her some magical chicken noodle soup to make her better anyways 🙂

     
    • erica42285

      April 1, 2011 at 5:38 am

      Ha ha you’re too funny. The way I see it, kids are going to get into things on their own. No matter what we do, so why sweat it? Let them eat dirt! You sound like a good daddy.

       

Leave a Reply

 
