RSS

GUEST POST: Erica D’s Version of How I Will Raise My Kids

05 Apr

Regarding the responses to my parenting blogs, I thought I’d ask some friends to write guest posts.  Erica is a former student of mine from my time in North Carolina.  She is also a writer, and a do-gooder, and a great person.  Anything I’m commenting on in this series is in italics.  🙂  Thanks, Erica!

So I was asked to write a blog about how I thought to raise my kids a few days ago and I’m honored to be asked by such an awesome blogger with whom I share a name. For the past two years, I’ve worked with people with mental disabilities. And for the past two years, I’ve worked with the same individual at my job and despite what you might think, its kind of like taking care of a kid in its own special way. I have to take the individual to the doctor, make sure he has lunch, correct him when he has done something wrong, make sure he’s taken care of when I’m out of town or sick, and the list goes on. I also take this person to the YMCA because he likes to swim and of course there are a bunch of munchkins running around. So I’ve had a lot of time to pay attention to parents and kids and the way they interact with each other. And I’ve came up with my own mental list of how I plan to raise my offspring! So here’s a list of 10 things I plan to do when I pop my kid out:

1. My kids will know who God is. They will be raised in church. What they decide to do when they’re 18 is a different story, but they will know who their Heavenly Father is.
2. Breastfeed (Don’t say “ew” or – it’s a natural thing and much better for your baby),
3. You know when you see mothers  in other countries carrying their child in big cloth blankets around their shoulders? Yeah, that’s my plan. Much more cheap and motherly, in my opinion.
4. Like Erica, I’m going to let my kid eat dirt. It’ll be okay. They won’t die.
5. My kids will not know what a “fast food” restaurant is. Chick-Fil-A will be a treat, but that’s about it.
6. The punishment will match their crime. Thanks, Harden Rives, for this beautiful insight. Ha!
7. TV will be kept in the living room for family time.
8. I will push my kids to be the BEST they can be. I will support them no matter what.
9. Their grandparents will play a role in their upbringing.
10. My husband will do the spanking. 🙂 Ha.

I realize these may seem outrageous…especially the fast food one. But hey, fast food is not good for you and if they don’t know how it tastes, they won’t miss anything. The most important is that my kids will be raised in a home that knows who God is and the purpose He has for their life.

Also, my kids will laugh their whole life. Because I plan to be the silliest, most awkward, most coolest mom EVER!

The End.

Very glad my kids will have an Aunt Erica.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2011 in Raising My Youngins

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “GUEST POST: Erica D’s Version of How I Will Raise My Kids

  1. globallygrounded

    April 5, 2011 at 9:43 am

    I feel as if I summed it up correctly with the ending comment about how I was going to be the most awkward mother ever! Thanks for the opportunity!

    Love
    “the Do-Gooder”

     
    • erica42285

      April 5, 2011 at 9:44 am

      🙂 You’re not going to be awkward. You’ll be wonderful!

       

Leave a Reply

 
