RSS

Spanking: A Necessity in Child-Rearing

08 Apr

We’re going to raise a lost generation of children unless they are properly disciplined and properly spanked.” -Charles Eddie Wiseman

Before I started typing this, I had a margarita, a shot of coffee tequila, a tall beer, and a third of a bottle of wine to make myself numb.  I then walked into my bedroom, found my coat of armor, buckled on a softball batting helmet, grabbed a beer, and hid behind the wall leading into my kitchen.  And then, for good measure, I grabbed some rotten tomatoes to throw back at you all once you turn on me, and your fangs begin to show, and your skin starts to sparkle…

Wait.  That’s a fate far scarier than any angry mob.

Ready…I’m gonna say it…oh my goodness—I’m going to spank my children.

It’s true.  I’m going to.  There is NO child above spanking.  God gave us padding on our butts specifically for that purpose.  And the truth is that there is no threat more frightening to a child than a spanking.

Tell them you’re “disappointed” and that “things are going to be different.”  Tell them that they “shouldn’t have done that” or that “they’re grounded.”  It’s not going to do as much as the fear of a spanking will.  And let’s be honest, it’s NOT ABUSE.  It’s NOT politically incorrect.  What it is is discipline.

I’m not saying that spanking should be overused or abused.  It should be reserved for when other methods of discipline don’t work.  Say a kid lies to you about hanging out in a junkyard where you specifically told him not to go.  He was forewarned.  He comes home and says, “But I didn’t know I shouldn’t be there!  And besides, it doesn’t matter.  I didn’t get hurt.”  And as he continues to talk back to you, he rolls his eyes.  Lies, disrespect, and disobedience.  Give the kid one smack on the butt.

And that’s the other thing.  Spanking should never be more than one swift hit.  And never with a paddle or anything besides an open palm. That way, you feel a little bit of that sting, too.  So it hurts you both. Spanking shouldn’t be fun for anyone, but it does need to happen.

I think parents choose to spank out of fear, not out of anger. You spank your kids when they put themselves into danger, or when they’re in danger of becoming horrible adults, when you fear for your children’s lives.  You do it to keep them in check.  It makes them cautious about the right things, the things that could actually put them in danger.  Kids don’t fear anything these days, which is why we have everyone running amuck.  And since spanking has had a bad taboo placed on it over the last few decades, well I’m sorry, but we’ve raised a bunch of fearless hellions.

Let’s get things back on track.  Don’t be afraid to spank your children.  They aren’t going to die, and they aren’t going to be emotionally scarred.  They’ll end up thanking you for it.

I remember all the times that I was spanked, and I deserved every last one of them.  My brother feels the same way.  My father does, too, about all the times he was spanked.   It builds character.

Not to mention, it reminds you that the world is not all cake and meaningless phrases.  It’s action, difficulty, and learning lessons.

Cheers.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on April 8, 2011 in Domesticity, Raising My Youngins

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “Spanking: A Necessity in Child-Rearing

  1. Christopher

    April 8, 2011 at 9:08 am

    Would you like a friend on that side of the fence? I’ll bring some armor from a renaissance faire (don’t forget the ‘e’ they get snippy) and a wiffle bat.

    I’m on your side. I got it once when I was 14 and thought it was a good idea to throw a shoe at my dad because I was in a bad mood. I deserved it. I also found out 14 was not too old to be picked up by the seat of my pants. It’s the little things you learn.

    The thing is, a punishment needs to be a punishment. Too often what is a punishment to one child isn’t to another, and when the discipline fails we’re left searching.

    More often than not I got grounded for my grades. I was allowed the radio and books but no TV, going out, friends over, Movies, Computer, or Video games. They knew that the video games was the zinger. It got my attention.

    Once my grades were up, no more grounding. It was something I did wrong, that resulted in a punishment I did not enjoy, which resulted in a modification of behavior.

    At the end of the day, we’re all better off for it.

     
    • erica42285

      April 8, 2011 at 11:36 am

      Ha ha, yes. Taking away favorite games works well, too!

       
  2. Jenny P.

    April 8, 2011 at 9:32 am

    oh, you ever get your mouth washed out with soap? that junk works, too. see me cussing? nope. all soap’s fault.

     
    • Christopher

      April 8, 2011 at 9:36 am

      Heck yes I did! My mom used liquid soap the one time too. Had to hold a drop on my tongue for a minute.

       
      • erica42285

        April 8, 2011 at 11:25 am

        OH yes, I got soaped. Yet I still cuss…

        My brother actually started to like the taste of soap. Mom would ask, “Liquid or bar?” and he’d smile and say, “BOTH.”

         
  3. Joline

    April 8, 2011 at 11:35 am

    Physical punishment can definitely work, especially at an age when they don’t quite understand words yet. My mom rarely laid a finger on us, but when she did she meant it and we knew it! It was usually for disrespecting her or putting ourselves in danger. Like, when my brother decided to get back at her by burning the kitchen down…when everything was cleaned up and we had a new stove, my mom put his hands on the knob and smacked it…I don’t think he touched the oven until he was like 20…. But I like what you say about it hurting the parent too, and only using it as a last resort. All in all, Erica, I’m in agreement with you: parenting has gotten too wimpy! As our generation is the one popping out kids currently, I think it’s important that we start taking a hard line on punishment!

     
    • erica42285

      April 8, 2011 at 11:40 am

      BURNING DOWN THE KITCHEN!? We just tried to run away to get back at our parents. And then got scared and turned around because we didn’t know much of anything beyond our driveway…

       
  4. Jacob

    April 8, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    Mom never spanked out of anger. She would line us up in front of the kitchen counter, tell s to put our hands up, then wait til she cooled off. Then she would ask us, one by one, why we were being punished, what we did, and what we could have done differently. If we smarted off, we would get more than one hit, but if we didn’t answer right away, she allowed us all the time in the world to swallow our pride until we said the appropriate lesson.
    Course, there we many times when we were all punished because of one child’s mess up. I understand in retrospect–we should be self-sustaining and each of us trying to keep the other in check–but damn it if I hated it.

    Should it ever come to the day where I have children–pray to what you will that I won’t–Spanking will be enforced. Pain is good. Pain cuts through wit and passive-aggressive snark.

     
    • erica42285

      April 8, 2011 at 2:39 pm

      “Pain cuts through wit and passive-aggressive snark.”

      I LOVE THAT! Everything your mom did sounds like a valid form of punishment to me.

       
  5. Erin Seabolt Bond

    April 8, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    Spanking never did it for me. Maybe my mom didn’t do it hard enough (personally, I love that she never was able to bring herself to actually inflict much real pain), or maybe it was being an only child–the absolute worst punishment for me was being grounded and unable to see my friends. I guess it’s all about learning your kids and what they respond–and don’t respond–to. But discipline (controlled, effective, loving, and at its core kind) is necessary, no question about that.

     
    • erica42285

      April 12, 2011 at 9:41 am

      Controlled, effective, loving, and with good intent. I can’t think of a better way to tell someone to discipline their children. 🙂 You have a way with words, Erin!

       

Leave a Reply

 
