RSS

The Official Rules of 26

26 Apr

You heard right.  Now that I’m 26, I’m giving myself some rules. Ever since my birthday, I’ve suffered from a severe feeling of inadequacy–like I’m not doing something right, or that I’m going to start doing something wrong.  I need it to quit.  And this is my solution.

Ready?

26th Year Rules (presented as “To Erica, From Erica”)

•  NO getting drunk.  Wine is fine.  A glass of beer now and again, also fine.  But if you drink till you impair your driving, you broke the rule.

•  In the spirit of learning something from Lent, let’s keep the cussing to a minimum.  You’re an adult who might have kids someday soon.  You might want to start taming the potty mouth now.

•  Eat more sushi (leave me alone, you hippies).

•  Go home (parents’ home) more often, for no reason at all.

•  If it’s not raining, and not below freezing, ride your bike to work.

•  Learn to cook something other than casserole.

•  Learn downtown Cleveland, so you don’t freak out every time you go there.

•  Grocery shop more than once every two months.

•  Go out in the rain.

•  Have fresh flowers in the house (this is an adult thing, no?)

•  Go on at least two vacations.

•  Accept that you are not a bean pole.

•  Attend more events that require you to dress up.

•  Smile more.  (I never thought I’d have to tell myself this.)

•  Quit looking so far into the future.  You have no control over it.

•  Continue to preach against sunscreen and anti-bacterial.

•  Maintain an anxiety-free lifestyle.

•  Do more things that scare you.

•  Stop trying to jump the gun.

•  Shoot more guns.

•  Pick a hobby that belongs only to you.

•  Visit friends from college.

•  Quit fretting.

•  Pray more.

•  Find a Catholic church to go to.

•  Put others first.
26 rules for the new 26-year-old.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2011 in Daily Happenings, Domesticity

 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to “The Official Rules of 26

  1. Tim

    April 26, 2011 at 8:45 am

    I think I broke a few of those already this morning :)Good luck Erica

     
  2. Danielle

    April 26, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    Great list! I have to comment on the cussing one. It has been the MOST difficult thing for me to stop doing. Chayce is to the point where he copies everything and I have gotten scolded many times because he’s learned it from me! I wish I had tackled this task years ago!:)

     
    • erica42285

      April 26, 2011 at 3:17 pm

      Ha ha sometimes it’s really cute when kids cuss…but dangit, sometimes it’s just inappropriate.

       
  3. beckygermain

    April 26, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    I’m very bad about the cussing, but I’m also coming to the realization that refraining from it all doesn’t really do anything for my kid. Kids cuss whether they hear it from their parents or not. And I’m not even exactly sure why it’s so taboo. They’re just words like any other. No, I don’t want Luke toddling around telling people to go fuck themselves, but I guess I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it. lol. And I’ve already had to sacrifice just about EVERY SINGLE adult activity on the planet in order to raise this kid, can’t I say a dirty word when I’m angry? Pretty please?

    But yes, you should smile more. Me too. I’m going to add that to my year 29 list, which is coming up so terribly soon.

     
    • erica42285

      April 26, 2011 at 3:19 pm

      Good point, Becky. Kids will hear it one place or another. I say you can keep cussing. And I’ve often wondered what makes words so bad anyway. Cussing has actually been proven to reduce pain when you get injured.

      Wish I could be there to smile with you over beers…wait…A beer, for your 29th. 🙂

       
  4. Erin Seabolt Bond

    April 26, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    I love this! I might steal the idea and make a list for myself for 28 (that makes me want to cuss), which is coming next week. UGH. The first one might be: “Stop dreading 30. You’re probably not going to die.”

     
    • erica42285

      April 26, 2011 at 3:20 pm

      Go for it, Erin! I feel like every year older makes me want to cuss. And it’s legitimate cussing–like I’m truly ticked off.

      I do not believe you’ll die at 30. I think you’ll just be a really awesome 30 year old. 🙂

       
  5. B

    April 26, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    Drinking and cussing are getting me through 26. Shooting more guns might be a good substitute though.

     
    • erica42285

      April 26, 2011 at 3:20 pm

      I asked my father for his .22. He looked at me a little oddly, then shrugged his shoulders like, “I get it.”

      You can borrow my .22. Popcans by the firelight, baby!

       
  6. Joline

    April 26, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    26 is scary. Weren’t we supposed to be immensely successful and financially set by now? Weren’t we supposed to have our own houses, and husbands and maybe even kids by now? So what did we do wrong? Where did we go off track? Oh yeah, that’s right, we matured and realized that our 20 year old selves were being a little ridiculous and we thank our lucky stars that we didn’t rush into anything we might’ve regretted. Then we look ahead and say “At least I’m not 30 yet” and forge on with life….but, yes, having flowers in the house is a very adult thing to do and I just picked some wild daffodils from the woods behind my place to set on the table…

     
  7. Jenny P.

    April 27, 2011 at 8:37 am

    i agree with visiting friends (ME) and taking vacations (WITH ME) but no getting drunk? dressing up? eating sushi?
    i don’t even KNOW you anymore, rico

     

Leave a Reply

 
