RSS

Travel Bug (Watch Out Wilmy-ites!)

27 Apr

Maybe it’s the constant rain (and lack of thunder) here in North Central Ohio, or the fact that I haven’t left Ohio (other than to PA, of course) in just under a year, but by golly it’s time to get out of here for a little bit!  Don’t get me wrong!  I love Ohio, and I will probably always come back to it.  But this time last year, I was packing up and moving out of my home in North Carolina.  This year, I’m watching Roseanne, doing crunches and squats on my living room floor, having ridiculous dreams, and wishing someone was here to go for a night walk with me.

So where do I want to go?  Well, somewhere cheap of course!  I still have great friends in Wilmington who are willing to let Mike and I hunker down for a bit, so we planning a trip in June (BE READY).  I cannot wait to get back to Carolina Beach and Flaming Amy’s. And don’t tell anyone, but I’ve begun to miss it.  I miss the Fat Pelican and the Reel Cafe, the downtown smell and the night time beach walks.  I miss the moon on the ocean and the and at my feet.  BAH!  I swore I’d never miss that place…but I do.  And most of all, I miss the people.  I made great friends down there.  I think it’s safe to say that if Wilmington hadn’t been sooooo far away from my family, and my father hadn’t had a heart attack, and people hadn’t needed me, that I would have loved it.  It’s just SO hard when you can’t get to those you love.

And I do have a lot of good memories there.  Tons of them…  Many of them were with Mike, who I only got to spend two months in Wilmington with, and those were some of the best.

I miss the meteor shower on the beach, turning 24 in the ocean, drinking on the dock, staring at the ocean during a storm.

Mike also has an uncle out in Arizona, and we’re pretty sure that we’ll head that way (probably toward the fall) for a vacation.  I’ve never been west besides Las Vegas, and I’d KILL for a desert sunset.

I want so badly to go to Berkley Springs, West Virginia, where I’ve only ever driven through and stopped once at a Sheetz for a chicken caesar salad.  I felt as though I belonged there, with the quaint downtown, the yellow sunshine, and the sparkling roads.  But that’s a post for another time.

So as much as I might have said that I didn’t like living in North Carolina, I did.  Minus the humidity.  And as much as I might have said that I would never go back, I will.  I am sorry if I ever offended any of you by saying these things.  I miss you.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2011 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

12 responses to “Travel Bug (Watch Out Wilmy-ites!)

  1. globallygrounded

    April 27, 2011 at 11:54 am

    YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    AHHHHH.
    😀

     
    • erica42285

      April 27, 2011 at 11:55 am

      Ha ha ha it’s true! I want to see you!

       
      • globallygrounded

        April 27, 2011 at 12:05 pm

        Yeah, you need to let me know as soon as you have the dates pencilled in your black book, because this North Carolinian wants to see you!

         
  2. Jessica Fowler

    April 27, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    I completely understand. I said I’d never miss it either, but last summer thats about the only place I went, and its hot spring days like this I really wish I could be there. Walk down Chancellors. Fall asleep in one of the comfy chairs. Its funny how that happens

     
    • erica42285

      April 27, 2011 at 12:21 pm

      It’s true. I don’t get it. 🙂

       
  3. Tim

    April 27, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    I love that story Erica. It reminds me of living in California and all that I miss about it. I’ll have to write about that someday. I tried, but too many memories I didnt know where to start or end.

     
    • erica42285

      April 27, 2011 at 3:17 pm

      May be more than one entry. 🙂

       
  4. Jenny P.

    April 27, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    Fat Pelican! I want to go there NOW.

     
  5. Becky Germain

    April 27, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    I live mere blocks from the fat pelican so there’s NO EXCUSE for us not to get a beer there when you come!!!

     
    • erica42285

      April 27, 2011 at 8:45 pm

      DEAL. 🙂 I love love love that bar! I’ll let you know when I have concrete plans.

       

Leave a Reply

 
