RSS

I HATE Grocery Shopping

29 Apr

I do.  If I hate one thing about being an adult (more than bills, of course), it’s grocery shopping. There’s nothing good about it.  I scowl going there.  I scowl coming back.  I scowl when I’m home and done.  I hate grocery shopping so much, that it’s beginning to make me hate food.  I make myself go once every month and a half.  And I spend about $100 (that’s with toiletries and other various things that I need).  And it KILLS me.

So here are some of the reasons I hate grocery shopping:

I hate weaving through the aisles.

I HATE pushing a cart-especially the janked up ones.

I hate the mood most people are in at the grocery store (me included).

I hate when I see that the price of something has gone up.

I hate that it takes so many raw ingredients to cook a good meal.

I hate buying fresh fruit and vegetables because they go bad so quickly.

I hate buying food that requires a specific cooking tool.

I hate the long lines at the check-out.

I hate the way most cashiers put food in the bags.

I hate reloading up the cart.

I hate putting all the groceries in my car (they spill out of the bags sometimes).

I hate carrying them in through two locked doors on my apartment.  All by myself.

I hate putting them away once I get them in the house.

And I HATE HATE HATE that when it’s all said and done, I have nothing to show for my money (besides the fact that I’m alive).  And to be honest, I’d rather save three grocery trips and buy a really expensive purse.  At least I’ll get to see it for more than a month and a half.  Or some clothes (which would probably be smaller sizes if I skipped three trips to the grocery store har har har).

I don’t know what I’m going to do when I have to grocery shop for a family (maybe I won’t have one just for this reason).  If I have to go every week, I’ll shoot myself in the foot.  And the grocery bill will multiply by like 4!  NO NO NO.  I won’t do it.

I’ll stick to my freezable veggies and my bagged apples that take a month and a half to go bad.  I’ll make meals out of saltines, ketchup, and sliced cheese.  I love cereal, which is great, because I only have to buy milk and cereal.  And I buy almond milk because I am lactose intolerant, and you know what?  I’m so cheap that I MIX IT WITH WATER TO MAKE IT LAST LONGER!

I hate food.  And I hate grocery shopping.

Which is why I’m making Mike take me tonight when he gets to town, because he seems to enjoy it.

Happy Friday, and on a wild tangent, YAY WILLIAM AND KATE!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2011 in Domesticity

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “I HATE Grocery Shopping

  1. Tim

    April 29, 2011 at 8:30 am

    That’s funny…I just hate spending the money! It’s crazy how much food cost now.

     
    • erica42285

      April 29, 2011 at 8:48 am

      I just realized how much it makes me unfit to be a housewife. H ah aha!

       
  2. Jessica

    April 29, 2011 at 11:36 am

    You would definitely hate my life. 🙂 I typically hit up 2 grocery stores EVERY WEEK. With a 1 year old in tow. But, I love grocery shopping! Saving money there (and other places) is my “job” so I can stay home. Instead of thinking about how much I spend (because you really don’t have a choice), I’m excited to see how much I’m saving. If you lived closer, I’d seriously do your shopping for you! 🙂

     
    • erica42285

      April 29, 2011 at 11:54 am

      Ha ha I might have to take you up on that if I ever move to Indy! I guess you have a pretty positive way of looking at it. I just dread it so much now. Maybe I ought to start couponing!

       
  3. Erin Seabolt Bond

    May 1, 2011 at 11:23 am

    Oh, I love grocery shopping! But only at certain grocery stores. I love Harris Teeter. I hate Wal-Mart. (This does not help with money–though HT has great buy-one-get-one deals that make it more reasonable to shop there.) Maybe you haven’t found a good grocery store yet? Wal-Mart stresses me out and makes me hate life. HT is never crowded, and it’s clean and well-lit and cool, and shopping there can be relaxing.

    I also began loving grocery shopping even more after being to Congo. Perhaps travel to a third-world country might help? (Okay, fine, seems like an extreme solution, but still.)

     
  4. Cal

    May 17, 2011 at 8:58 am

    Where did you get the idea for this blog? I’m always curious how folks come up with their blog imaginations.

     
    • erica42285

      May 17, 2011 at 9:43 am

      I didn’t really get the idea…I just kind of spouted off things that I believed, and it seemed to create a reaction in people–so I went with it. Thanks!

       

Leave a Reply

 
