RSS

A Formal Request – From Mom

09 May

This weekend, my mother put in a formal request for grandchildren.  Upon seeing one of the women she graduated with at a department store on Mother’s Day, and looking at the pictures of her grandchildren on her cell phone, my mother smacked me and said, “I’m still waiting.”  That’s about as formal as one can be while requesting grandchildren.

And as we walked past the children’s department and all the onesies with duckies and flowers and balloons, she gave me puppy dog eyes, and for once, the roles were reversed.

Children are the ones that usually want things from their parents – in 4th grade it was black high-tops, in junior high it was NIKE everything, in high school it was American Eagle, and in college it was eating money.  Not to mention all the requests for certain foods from the grocery store, electronics, time time time.  Kids always want things from their parents.

And in return, parents just want their children to grow up right, to lead good lives, and to learn to support themselves…  Until you’re 26, and you’ve accomplished those things, and they look at you and say, “So, what’s next?”

For 26 years, my parents gave me things – things I wanted, asked for, things I didn’t want or ask for but needed, things and things and things.  They were always giving and never asking for anything in return.  And it’s weird to think now that only my brother and I can give them what they want next (not my brother and I together, of course, but with our significant others).  Both of my parents want grand kids.

I told her I could have her one in about 9 months, but I think she prefers I get married first.  And call me old-fashioned, but I prefer that, too.  I’d love to give my parents grandchildren.  I’d love to give myself children.  I’d love to give a man children.

It’s just not in the cards right now.  😦

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2011 in Domesticity

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “A Formal Request – From Mom

  1. Tim

    May 9, 2011 at 10:27 am

    Good Story Erica…I think my parents are still giving me things 🙂 Tell your mom they will come in time….your time. Either way…I’m sure its not from a lack of potential donors :)Good Luck…you’ll be a great MOM!

     
    • erica42285

      May 9, 2011 at 10:54 am

      Ha ha! Thanks, Tim! We’ll see.

       
  2. Jerry Pope

    May 9, 2011 at 11:24 am

    I love the role-reversal idea, giving back to our parents. However, as I’m sure you know, a baby is not a thing like Nikes or a picture in a wallet. You’ve only recently turned 26, finished the master’s degree, found a good job. One victory at a time.

     
    • erica42285

      May 9, 2011 at 12:07 pm

      Hi Jerry,

      I agree. Thing is that I want those lil babies, too. I’ve been ready for quite awhile now. If it were up to me, the babies would be here. 🙂 But I’m settling in. All is well.

       
  3. Erin Seabolt Bond

    May 10, 2011 at 7:57 am

    Oh boy, just wait until you get married–the puppy dog eyes become personally hurt. Not only do they want something from you, but YOU are the one depriving them of it, and for no good reason. ::sigh::

    I want kids (I think), but I need to figure a couple things out first. In July, we’ll have been married seven years. Seven! And no kids. Jesse’s parents are fairly furious. 🙂

     
    • erica42285

      May 10, 2011 at 9:24 am

      Ha ha ha oh Erin. It’s such an odd thing!

      I think you two would be wonderful parents. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
