RSS

Summer Feet

20 May

I am not so patiently awaiting my summer feet.  In the Winter, we all get soft, padding around in Mukkaluks, boots, those horrendous looking Ugg things that people wear (but I hear are quite warm).  We walk around our house in fluffy penguin socks and store away our flip-flops.  And then we slip on rain boots (well, those of us in Ohio anyway) for about 3 months before the summer because God forbid we have a dry day.

But not me.  Oh no.  I’m working on my summer feet.  I’m wearing those flip-flops already, sliding around in them until I twist my ankle.  And if it gets below 40 degrees, I’m wearing my Sperry’s, sans socks, because I’m ready for summer feet.

I used to be able to run across my grandparents’ gravel driveway barefoot and not think a thing of it.  I want that back.  I want those tough callused feet that could withstand anything.  And I want to not care if my feet are dirty.

Take Jenny for instance:

Jenny's Feet After a Weekend in DC and Cooperstown, NY

Oh we ran barefoot and in flip-flops through fields of goldenrod.  We climbed trees and felt the bark with our souls…and our soles.


Those were the days.  Let’s do that again, friends.  Say in Wilmington?  This July?  We can run barefoot like madmen and drink on docks?

Wait, I know why I don’t have my summer feet yet…I need to have someone to romp around with.  Okay friends–we now have a mission.

Happy Friday!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 20, 2011 in Daily Happenings, When I Was Young

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Summer Feet

  1. Jenny P.

    May 20, 2011 at 9:02 am

    you’ll be happy to know my summer feet are already in full force. i was throwing a football last weekend apparently in a field of stickers. i found out it was a field of stickers because the guy i was throwing with had to quit to put on his shoes. i told him he was crazy, there were no stickers, but then when i lifted my feet to inspect? stickers everywhere. yay summer feet!

     
  2. Jenny P.

    May 20, 2011 at 9:02 am

    p.s. JULY!!!!!

     
    • erica42285

      May 20, 2011 at 3:34 pm

      JULYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

       
  3. Joline

    May 20, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    Oh, Erica, sometimes your blog makes me want to write my own….

    I love summer feet. I once walked through glass while T.P.ing (sp?) in jr. high, without noticing. My mother never put a pair of shoes (or sandals, or flip flops, or anything more than socks) on my feet until I was 3 years old. I remember little of my childhood in actual shoes (the nice thing about living in California 17 years ago…) When I was a teen, the old folks would chide me for riding my bike with no shoes, and it wasn’t uncommon to see me dropping a pair of flip flops to the ground to slide on so I could go into the library. Living in Australia, my feet actually grew by a half a shoe size, because I was never in anything more than a pair of flip flops. These days, I retire the tennis shoes the second the snow disappears from the ground, and worship the feel of slipper grass between my toes, or squashy mud around my ankles.

    Hail to summer feet!!

     
  4. Michelle

    May 20, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    Summer feet in July sounds heavenly 🙂 I can’t wait. This post made my day one million times better. I still can’t believe you guys made the drive to Cooperstown–I’m so glad you were there.

    p.s. Am I licking Jenny’s face?! I don’t seem to remember that…

     

Leave a Reply

 
