RSS

My Storm Survival Pack – Throughout the Years

26 May

In light of all the recent storms, I thought I’d address my survival pack.  By survival pack, I mean what I drag to the basement with me whenever the tornado sirens start going off and the wind picks up.  And once all my stuff is IN the basement, I abandon it to stand out in the front yard until I’m bound to be swept away like Jonas’s truck in Twister.  I know I can get into the basement fast, but it takes a little prep time to gather the items that mean the most to me.  The pack has changed throughout the years based what’s important to me at that juncture of my life.  SO here are my survival packs throughout the years:

Infancy-10 years old:  Whatever I was wearing.  I had no sense of urgency, I did not fear the sky, and I’m sure my unawareness of bad weather left me in a blissful state of childhood.

10-16 years old:  Teddy Bear, jewelry, my keepsake box from all the men I loved who didn’t even know my name.  Favorite blankets.  Omar Vizquel baseball card collection.  Autograph book.  Photo albums.  Journals Journals Journals.  Beanie Babies.  Want to know why?  I was sure–absolutely SURE–that if my house blew away, it would be my super valuable Beanie Baby collection that would restore our lives when the storm was over.  Shut up.

16-18 years old:  Pretty much the same, minus the Beanie Babies.  And the keepsake box from men who didn’t know me became a keepsake box from my boyfriend at the time.  And then I got sentimental, and began grabbing something from each grandparent, something from each parent, something from my brother.  I wanted all my bases covered.

18-22 years old:  I was in college at Ashland University, and most of my valuable belongings were still at my parents’ house.  So the Teddy Bear (yes, he went to college, too), my jewelry box, and the belongings of whatever man I was dating then.  To be honest, I didn’t go to the basement very often when there were tornado warnings because I was a hardass in college.  Don’t doubt that.

22-25 years old:  I was in North Carolina.  There were no tornadoes.  And I never got a hurricane, and I didn’t have a basement, so I didn’t really have to worry about it.  I would have taken my jewelry box, items from a boyfriend, Teddy Bear, the quilt I made with my friend Joy, and I began taking my flash drives with all my writing on them.  Because you can bet your ass that I was quitting school if I lost my thesis and had to start over.

Quilt and Teddy Bear, first bedroom in NC.

 26 years old:  My jewelry, everything from Mike, the Teddy Bear, the Quilt.  I haven’t had to think about it in awhile.

The way it works with me is this:  I will grab everything I think I need and head to the basement.  If I don’t think there’s an immediate threat, I will run back up the stairs and grab something else, anything else.  I’ll stockpile as much as I can in the basement.  If I have time, I’m saving everything.

**of course I would save my family above all of this.

Praying for those who had to deal with severe weather this year.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 26, 2011 in Daily Happenings, When I Was Young

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “My Storm Survival Pack – Throughout the Years

  1. Tim

    May 26, 2011 at 10:44 am

    Can’t say I take much…or even go. I’m usually the one looking from my porch to confirm that there is a storm and i’m the dumbass watching it happen 🙂

     
    • erica42285

      May 26, 2011 at 10:47 am

      Me too…I love the weather. I just have to make sure that all my favorite inanimate objects are safe before I can enjoy the sky. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
