RSS

Raising My Youngins’: The Basics for Boys

27 May

I love love love reading 1001 Rules for My Unborn Son, and I agree with the majority of them.  I love how specific they are, from “You can’t serenade a girl on the drums” to a Buddy Garrity quote:  “He loves football.  He just doesn’t know it yet.”

And while I am not that detailed, I thought I’d make a list of the basic things I know I will teach my son(s).  This may get long, and it may get more detailed, but hell, that’s just how I am.  I’m going to try to keep this away from the “how to treat women” side of things.

  1. Don’t hit girls.  (Broke my rule already.  This is the only one.)
  2. Dress for the occasion (hunting boots in the woods, suits in church).
  3. You can cry, but make sure it’s warranted.
  4. Don’t piss into the wind.  Or in front of women.
  5. Watch Indiana Jones.
  6. Go outside.
  7. Learn to hunt.
  8. Learn to fish.
  9. Learn to work on cars.
  10. Tell the truth.
  11. Don’t put yourself in situations you know you can’t get out of safely.
  12. Play baseball.
  13. Climb trees.
  14. Wrestling on TV is not real.
  15. Always come home when someone is sick.
  16. Read a book once in awhile.
  17. Always bring at least a 6-pack.
  18. Spiral a football–don’t just throw it.

Aaaand I’m tired, and am ready for the weekend.  So have a great Memorial Day Weekend!  See you Tuesday!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 27, 2011 in Raising My Youngins

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Raising My Youngins’: The Basics for Boys

  1. Tim

    May 27, 2011 at 10:02 am

    Wrestling Fake!!!!! Blasphemy you speak!!!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
