RSS

Lovin’, Touchin’, Baby Squeezin’

06 Jun

I did a fair share of baby squeezing at Mike’s sister’s graduation party this weekend.  Grady, Brennan, Carter, and loads and loads of toddlers.

And they’re all so stinkin’ cute, dangit.  SO stinkin’ cute.  There’s just something about holding a little tiny baby to my heart that makes my ovaries glow.

This is baby Brennan about 4 months ago:

Don’t you just wanna squeeze him!?  I’m waiting for pictures of Mike and I with Grady.  We took some, family photo style.

Of course holding babies makes me want babies (deja vu?), but at the same time, it also makes me realize how unprepared I am for them.  Minus the fact that I do not have a husband, I also live in a one bedroom apartment, with a multitude of student loans, and a tendency to not want to spend money on anything.  I haven’t been to the grocery store in a month.

They say there’s no perfect time to have a baby.  But I do have a few requirements before I have one.

Before I Have A Baby, I Will…

  1. Have a husband
  2. Live in the same town as him.
  3. Have more than one bedroom in my house
  4. Be less afraid of/hateful toward grocery shopping
  5. Not be afraid to log into my bank account (this began in grad school, when I was poor)
  6. Be more involved in my church (Catholicism tends to scare you into behaving, and guilt you if you screw up.  I love it.)

And Ideally, I will…

  1. Drink less wine
  2. Own a puppy, you know, to practice
  3. Have my parents living a little bit closer so I don’t have to pay for daycare
  4. Have a big old farmhouse with a lot of land so that my babies can grow up with summer feet
  5. Be able to fly my kids all over the country to see the awesome people I’ve met along the way

There is far more to this.  But for now, this will do.  So go do some lovin’, touchin’, and baby squeezin’.  You owe it to yourself!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2011 in Domesticity

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Lovin’, Touchin’, Baby Squeezin’

  1. Tim

    June 6, 2011 at 11:51 am

    Somehow Erica, even when you have all those things in place….you’re still never ready. Hopefully you can accomplish a few of those things before, but kids are great and once they grow up even better. Good Luck

     
    • erica42285

      June 6, 2011 at 7:02 pm

      Hi Tim,

      That’s what I hear. But dang. I just want a perfect storm!

       
  2. rachael d

    June 7, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    Oh sweet Erica…while i do have a husband and we live in the same town, he travles so much for work it’s lonely at times. i currently live in a three bedroom home but only until next week where then I will be six months prego and looking for a new home while living with my parents…I firmly believe I will never ever love the grocery store. I give one hundred percent control of our finances to my husband which means i get a cash allowence since i dont really know how to manage the books well. and i havent gone to church in over a year…(not even this easter). i will never give up wine and in fact abstaining is the most difficult part of pregnancy. I did own a dog first, and he’s dying of cancer as we speak. and i imagine traveling with children is a major pain in the arse. while i am not complaining about my life in any way, you must understand the important things come first. and its not always the farmhouse of your dreams. not trying to scare you and you are smart enough to know what i am talking about here, but sometimes plans change, and most of the time its for the better.

    (forgive my punctuation and grammar…dumb smart phones)

     
    • erica42285

      June 8, 2011 at 8:44 am

      I know that it’s never going to be easy, and that my “perfect storm” is never going to happen. But it’s okay. Those were my ideal requirements. 🙂 I get what you’re saying, though.

       
  3. Heather

    June 8, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    I enjoyed this! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
