RSS

UPDATED: F*ck Technology – My Own Stupidity

15 Jun

***Update***  I type to you from my brand new computer!  $484 later…which is okay for what I got.  4G ram, 500G hard drive.  🙂  And a bunch of other things that the tech guys at work mentioned (something about i3?).  Anyway, I wanna thank Mike, that darling boyfriend of mine, for researching computers all last night and telling me what was the best deal and the best technology, for listening to my whine, for telling me that it will be okay, and that I will not die without a computer for one day.  And thanks to Tom, our IT wizard who is no doubt right now trying to save the photos from my old laptop.  And to Matt for his (somewhat unhelpful) input.  To Dustin, for riding with me to get the computer, telling me not to waste my time on the Geek Squad (I do work at a computer place, after all), and for answering my panicked questions about Google Chrome.  I have incredible friends.

Why do I feel like I just gave a speech for receiving an award?

 

***********************************************************************************

 

Kidding.  I love technology.  But I hate how damn fragile it is.

I spilled my water on my laptop last night.  I am without a computer at home.  And without cable.  So I’m reading mostly, and staring at walls.

Tonight, I am going to buy a new computer.

Just thought you’d like to know that I’m an idiot.  And that I’m angry.

Cheers.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2011 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “UPDATED: F*ck Technology – My Own Stupidity

  1. Brian Guppy

    June 15, 2011 at 11:50 am

    Chris took her cell phone with her into the baby pool a couple of weeks ago. It looked like it was completely fried, but after 2 days it was able to turn on, and within 4 days it was completely back to normal. I had a similar experience with a cell phone in a thunderstorm. I’d wait and see what happens before you spend a bunch of money on a new laptop.

     
    • erica42285

      June 15, 2011 at 12:01 pm

      Hey Brian,

      The problem is that I don’t know what to do without one. And I don’t want to miss the sale price on this laptop that I want.

      I’ve had the thing for 4 years, and the battery is shot. Not to mention it’s slower than a three-legged turtle.

      Anyway, the tech at working is looking at it. I suppose we’ll see. Thanks for the advice! I’ll keep the old one anyway as a back up.

       
  2. Brian Guppy

    June 15, 2011 at 12:01 pm

     

Leave a Reply

 
