RSS

The Magnificent 7 – An American Team

23 Jun


The Magnificent 7.  Shannon Miller, Dominique Moceanu, Dominique Dawes, Kerri Strug, Amy Chow, Amanda Borden and Jaycie Phelps.  1996 Olympic Gold Medalists in gymnastics.  We were ALL behind them.  Why don’t we have something like this anymore?!  Sure, we were all rooting for Michael Phelps, but the truth is I just didn’t give a shit.

Maybe it’s because he was an individual.  I can get behind a team a lot more.  And I don’t care about swimming.  At all.  And he had no hardships, like our darling little Kerri Strug.  And what about sweet little Dominique Moceanu, and America’s sweetheart Shannon Miller? And I always thought Amanda Borden was just the nicest girl with the sweetest smile.  That’s a whole lotta “sweet.”

Michael Phelps just didn’t do anything for me.

I remember as a child waiting rather impatiently to watch the next routine.  I don’t even care about the Olympics, but I cared about the Magnificent 7.

So what was it about them?  Their personalities?  How did an entire country rally behind them?  How did we all fall in love with the Magnificent 7?

When was the last time America was excited about someone, or a group of someones?  We can’t really count Obama and the last presidential election based solely on the fact that there were two sides.  There are always two sides in politics.

But not with the Magnificent 7.  They had the entire country behind them.  I miss that.  I want America to get behind something like this again.  We need a group that’s all around good.  That we just can’t turn away from.

But in this farking politically correct world, it’s hard to find something that pleases everyone…

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2011 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “The Magnificent 7 – An American Team

  1. Tim

    June 23, 2011 at 10:13 am

    I get your thing with swim…not that I have anything against it, it is kinda boring. Gymnastics is exciting…Its like watching ice skating. You hope they do good and you cringe at their mistakes. with swimming, whats going to happen..they win or lose…its not they’re going to get hurt swimming. I don’t think they’ll drown…so the worst thing really is they stop swimming. So many things can go wrong and has in gymnastics!

     
  2. Jerry Pope

    June 23, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    I know: Everyone can get behind me. Go Jerry! I’d never heard of this Magnificent 7. Thought maybe you did a blog about gunfighters. haha Seriously, I think a lot of people tend to rally themselves these days. Go Jerry! woo hoo!!

     
  3. Danielle

    June 23, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    I remember watching them compete! I remember how exciting it was. I honestly don’t remember watching the Olympics since then. Maybe because I’m much more busy these days, or have little interest.

    I do have to say that I’d love to know what each of the Magnificent 7 are up to these days! Life stories and all!

     
    • erica42285

      June 23, 2011 at 3:19 pm

      Dominique Moceanu actually lives in Cleveland from what I understand! It would be great to know what they’re all up to.

      Cheers!

       

Leave a Reply

 
