RSS

Wilmington Vacay Recap (WITH PHOTOS!)

07 Jul

So I promised photos.  Surprisingly, I didn’t take that many.  And most of them are of Mike and I.  They are in the gallery below.

We got to Raleigh after a deafeningly quiet drive and slept on Hope’s couch for an hour.  It was so good to see her!  And then we drove the rest of the way to Wilmington, dropped off our things, and hit the beach.  It felt so good to be in the Carolina sun again.

That night, we ate Flaming Amy’s with Scott and Michelle, our wonderful, gracious hosts and incredible friends and then they took me to my first stand-up comedian at a club in Wilmington.  It was HILARIOUS.  🙂  After that, we went to the Black Sheep for an MFA party, and then home to sleep it all off.  And dang was I freakin’ tired.

Saturday, Mike, Michelle, and I went to the beach and got some more of that Carolina sun, and swam in the water.  It felt AMAZING.  We also watched a sailboat launch from the beach, which was pretty exciting if you ask me.  Saturday night, we watched the Trailer Park Boys and ate amazing chicken from Scotty’s grill.

Sunday, Scott and Mike went fishing and Michelle and I went and rounded up food for the 4th of July cookout our friends Brian and Chris were having.  We ate lunch at the Mellow Mushroom where I saw my friend and old student Erica D.  Then Mike and I buzzed around and went shopping where we both got some awesome deals at Belk (I miss that store) and Mike got new flip-flops which were sorely needed.  After that, we went to the cookout and then Mike and I sneaked away to Wrightsville Beach where we drank a bottle of white wine and watched at least 7 different sets of fireworks going off all around us.  It was really a nostalgic place for us to be at night, and it felt really good and new at the same time.

Monday was the actual 4th of July, and I woke up early and went fishing with Mike.  He looked so darn cute catching little spotty fish, and again, I got a little more sun.  Then we had lunch with my buddy Harden at Two Guys Grille and relaxed.  When we got home, we drank some beers before heading downtown to eat dinner at a German restaurant and then watch the Wilmington fireworks.  I got a little sketched out because there was no cell phone reception, so I didn’t get to see everyone that I tried to call, but it was okay.  The fireworks were awesome and there were tons of people down there.

Tuesday morning, we woke up and left the house by 6:30a.m. and took a leisurely ride home, where we stopped at the Tanger outlets, in Marietta, Ohio, and finally in New Philadelphia, Ohio to see my friend Shelley.  🙂

It was an awesome vacation.  Click the pics to make ’em bigger!

 

 

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 7, 2011 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Wilmington Vacay Recap (WITH PHOTOS!)

  1. Tim

    July 7, 2011 at 10:28 am

    Sounds like a nice vacation…:)

     

Leave a Reply

 
