RSS

Running On Broken Knee

13 Jul

I’m sure you’re all smart enough to realize that the chunky adolescent with the broken knee was me.  I did blow out my knee, smashed it back together, and went on my merry way.  That day at the food court, though, I ordered a salad.

I made it through junior high and high school pretty successfully.  I wore straight leg jeans until 9th grade, when Old Navy introduced a flare that I didn’t think was dumb.  I had one Abercrombie shirt.  I even got a boyfriend.  I quit buying Lisa Frank, quit perming my hair, got my braces off, and quit eating lunches for 3 years, which seemed to do the trick.

I forgot about the whole knee situation until I started running in college.  I’m not real sure what made me do it.  I always loved to walk, and one day, the walking just didn’t seem fast enough.  It wasn’t giving me that pounding heart that I love so much.  So I took off.  I ran and I ran and I ran.

One summer, I was running 5 miles a day.  This was fine and dandy until my right hip started hurting, and my knee starting freaking out on me, then my back was screwy.  And one day, while I was putting on my shoes, I realized that my right leg was shorter than the other.  Awesome.  Not much, but enough to feel it while running.  I blame it on the day in the dressing room, and my love for chicken fingers in my younger days.

I still like to run, though.  I can’t do 5 miles a day anymore because my knee can’t take it.  I’ll settle for 2-3 mile days with a ton of walking.

Last night, I must have walked 10 miles.  I went for a walk/run by myself after work.  I walked with my friend Chelsea at 7.  And at 8:30, I met up with my friend Denise and her neighbor for a walk.  Then I ruined it all with a Piña Colada.  🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2011 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Running On Broken Knee

  1. Danielle

    July 13, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    Not “ruined it with a Pina Colada”, but “rewarded myself with a pina colada”. Way to go!:)

     
  2. Nick Wobser

    July 13, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    Still got the rollerblades? Less stress on the joints!

     
    • erica42285

      July 13, 2011 at 7:44 pm

      Yeah, but I love runnin’. And the sidewalks in Brunswick are absolute SHIT.

       

Leave a Reply

 
