RSS

Why I Don’t Vote – On This Day in 1920…

18 Aug

Women were granted the right to vote.   I’m about to lose about half or more of my followers on this, but I do not vote.

Why?

Plenty of reasons:

  1. I hate politics.  I know I am affected by them, but I do not want to think about it.
  2. None of the issues seem to directly affect me.  Say you’re going to take my student loans away and I’ll vote for you.
  3. I think it is utterly boring to read about what all of the politicians have to say.
  4. They come on during my favorite shows.
  5. The entire country gets all flustered when it comes time to do this whole voting thing.
  6. People turn against each other.
  7. We have to define ourselves to a political party.
  8. And when it comes down to it, our votes don’t make that much of a difference anyway.  Electoral College what?

And the #1 reason I don’t vote is very practical:  If I do not care enough to be informed, then I cannot make an informed decision, and if, in a rare instance my vote actually counts for something, I may not make the best choice.

So I’m doing you all a favor.  Your welcome.

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2011 in Domesticity

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Why I Don’t Vote – On This Day in 1920…

  1. Tim

    August 18, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    I can see why you get frustrated at this…I too myself get that way…I think I blogged about that 🙂

     
  2. Beki

    August 18, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    Mike and I were chuckling about this the other day (you mentioned something about it on FB or Twitter I think). I was the same until last year. I think politicians finally just pissed me off enough to spite vote. I also found a few issues to be interested in. You don’t have to choose a political party though, FYI. That’s only to vote in primaries for a particular party. Also your vote doesn’t make much difference in national elections, but it does hold more weight in state and especially local elections. All politicians are liars and thieves, you just have to find the ones lying and thieving in the right direction.

     
  3. Beki

    August 18, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    Oh, and you can choose to have all the ballots mailed to you. I only vote if I don’t have to leave the house!

     
  4. Jerry Pope

    August 18, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    You’re too brutally honest for me to stop reading. Whether or not I agree with you (*cough* manly man *cough*), I respect that you feel strongly about every thing you write, even when it’s something you don’t feel strongly about, like voting.

    I can’t blame you on this politics thing. It’s a lot like pro wrestling these days: scripted to get a rise out of us. Though one vote won’t make a difference, lots of those single votes can. Sometimes I follow the news, fascinated by the insanity and absurdity; other times I’m too disgusted by it. Be who you are. Write about who you are. Do what’s necessary to maintain your lust for life. Heck with the rest.

     
  5. DBourne

    August 20, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    You should vote.

     
    • erica42285

      August 22, 2011 at 9:42 am

      Meh. Maybe if someone gives me a reason to care. If Roseanne runs for president, I’ll vote.

       
  6. Jacob G.

    November 8, 2011 at 9:22 am

    The only reason I think I could offer you to care about politics would be your children. Whether you like it or not, your hypothetical babies will exist in a political context outside of your interests, and if you want your young’uns to be able to navigate a world where they are used as political talking points, you gotta understand the language of power and how it translates into real world scenarios so you can create some context for your kids. If you want examples of things that’ll effect you and your children directly, I’ll point to No Child Left Behind, the OGT, the Patriot Act, and anything and everything that deals with taxes. As it stands now, I agree that you shouldn’t vote because you aren’t interested in your political environment. I’d prefer it if you did take an interest and muscle past the discomfort, if only because you’re invested in the system even if you ignore it, but my opinion about your politics is about as relevant and important as my first best friend’s big toe is to this conversation. Ultimately you gonna do what you gonna do.

     
    • erica42285

      November 8, 2011 at 9:26 am

      Hi Jacob! I understand what you’re talking about. It all makes a lot of sense, and I think you’re right. My babies will be affected by my voting. It’s just that babies don’t seem real close in my future, so I tend to dismiss it. I know that voting now (like taking calcium) will have long-term effects… I just can’t get myself to care.

      My problem is that politics just seem like a bunch of lies and words. I mean, you can say you’re going to do something, but you don’t have to follow through. And the truth is that I don’t trust people to follow through.

      I love the fact that we have a government. And I love that there is some sort of “order.” I just kinda don’t wanna be involved.

       

Leave a Reply

 
