RSS

Jumping on the Bandwagon

24 Aug

When something big happens, we all want to be involved.  Even if it’s something unfortunate.

This isn’t necessarily a bad thing.  It is this desire to be involved that spawns compassion among human beings.  It’s because we can imagine what it would be like if it HAD happened to us.  So we reach out.

I am lucky enough to have never been in danger because of the weather.  I’ve never seen a tornado, been in a hurricane, or felt an earthquake.  I’ve never suffered through a tsunami or ran from an exploding volcano.  I just haven’t.  I like to think that I live in one of the safest areas in the world.  I live in the United States.  Safety #1.  I also live in northern Ohio.  So no hurricanes, no fault lines, no tsunamis, and rarely a tornado.

I am lucky.

But here’s the thing:  I’ve always wanted to see a tornado–just not have to worry about it harming anyone or anything.

And when I lived in North Carolina, I so badly wanted to experience a hurricane.  Not a horrible one–just a hurricane.  I wanted to see the rain and watch the trees bend, listen to the wind howl and hear the windows shake.

And when the earthquake hit yesterday, I wanted to feel it something fierce.  But I didn’t.

I want to experience these types of weather–I just don’t want to deal with any of the negative effects.  I’m stuck somewhere in this thinking that this makes me a bad person.  I want to see these things that ruin people’s lives.  But I don’t want them to ruin people’s lives.  And I certainly don’t want to be in danger either.

I just want to see it, you know?  Bah.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2011 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Jumping on the Bandwagon

  1. Jerry Pope

    August 26, 2011 at 6:12 am

    There is nothing wrong with wanting to experience the earth having a little bit of fun. In 1999, shortly before I moved out of NC, there were three fairly large hurricanes. I didn’t evacuate. Unless my death is guaranteed, I want to feel the extreme weather; it gives the earth personality. One can feel the untamed tantrum in the air. While in Missouri, I barely escaped a tornado. It touched down in the place I just left, then again in my destination (before I got there). The sound was horrific, like Darth Vader in a continuous exhale, amplified through a million-watt speaker. The aftershock of the recent earthquake shook my apartment like it was a snow globe. But the shaking was slow.

     
    • erica42285

      August 26, 2011 at 7:17 am

      Holy cats! That’s pretty much one of the best descriptions of a tornado I’ve ever read. 🙂 Glad you made it through the extreme weather so that I could meet you!

       

Leave a Reply

 
