RSS

IT’S CALLED POP

02 Sep

I know I know, we’ll all defend our name for fizzy drinks until we die.  But where I come from, it’s called pop.  Because that’s what it does.  It pops.  And it looks like 80-100% of the folks in my home county (Sandusky County, Ohio) agree with me.  Now, call me crazy, but there’s an awful lot of blue on this map.  but I am also aware that it appears in many sparsely populated areas.

But on this Friday, I will proudly order a pop from any restaurant, and I will drink a pop any time of day.  And if you ask me for a soda or a Coke, I’m just gonna say, “You mean a pop?”

Happy Friday!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2011 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “IT’S CALLED POP

  1. Tim

    September 2, 2011 at 9:18 am

    that’s Funny Erica…When I was in the Marine Corps, Everybody always called it Soda…I called it POP. Like all Technical Marine Corps Terms though I finally succumbed and for years I called it soda too. We even had a “Soda Mess” (a place at work to go buy a soda and get a hot dog). When I returned back to Ohio, people would look at me funny when I asked for a soda….My cousins in “the south” call everything “Coke” weather it’s actual Coke or spite or even Pepsi…its funny…

     
  2. Jerry Pope

    September 2, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    I’ve always called it “soda pop,” since soda is what it is and pop is what it does.

     

Leave a Reply

 
