RSS

Back to Ashland

28 Sep

Lately, I’ve had an intense desire to return to Ashland University.

I feel like I’m looking for something…and something tells me it’s down in Ashland.  It’s like the thing I’m looking for is something that I’ve long since forgotten since my time there.  Something I had there, KNEW there, but I don’t know anymore.  I’ve forgotten something.

But what have I forgotten?  And why have I forgotten it?

Is it because there are no trees here in Brunswick to climb?  Or the fact that if I did, people would probably report me?  Tree-climbing is much more forgivable on a campus.

Is it because I don’t live across the hall from people I love and trust?

Is it because there is no plan once I leave work?  Because Wal-Mart is too far away just to go to for the fun of it?

Is it because everything was undetermined?

Is it because I was meeting new people every day?

What have I forgotten?  And how do I remember?

I feel that this will be an endless series of questions unless I go to Ashland.  Walk around.  Remember what it was to be there and what state of mind I was in.  Something is missing…it almost feels as though I’ve lost my thumb and the ability to put it on anything to pin it down and figure it out.

Ashlanders, do you know what I’m talking about?  Have you remembered what I’ve forgotten?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2011 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “Back to Ashland

  1. Christopher

    September 28, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    I do actually. I have felt a little restless, most of the time. Like I’ve always left the stove on, but can’t remember for sure, and can’t go check. Like I’m always right on the edge of needing to pace to remember what I was doing…
    On the other hand, I don’t feel like going back to Ashland would help.

     
    • erica42285

      September 28, 2011 at 1:58 pm

      We’re all living in a time that begs us to be anxious about everything. I hate being anxious.

      I might venture to guess that your cure is in Ashland, too. Or maybe I’m putting too much faith in a city.

       
      • Christopher

        September 28, 2011 at 3:17 pm

        I never quite made the connection to the place that some of you girls did. I dunno why…

         
  2. Jacob

    September 28, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    I know the feeling, but I can tell you from experience that the place is irrelevant. It was the experience composite with the people that made it fun. You won’t find that again. Maybe a ghost of it. If you go back it might be good closure, since it’ll provide tangible evidence to reaffirm that it’s gone. Just don’t set yourself for disappointment.

     
    • erica42285

      September 28, 2011 at 3:45 pm

      Oh I know that Ashland has changed drastically. It is not the same place, but it still holds the same memories. I am convinced that what I am looking for is tucked away in a memory that I have since forgotten. A memory that can only be revived by place.

       
  3. Joline

    September 28, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    Maybe we’re just reaching that age where college is just out of reach. I still live in Ashland, but lately I’ve been watching the kids walk to Convo and thinking to myself “oh, Convo, how I miss you!” Maybe it’s not so much the place, or that we’ve lost something, but that we now feel the distance between that time in our lives and this time in our lives. Call is nostalgia. Come back if you like. I’ll be around!!

     
  4. Hope

    September 28, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    I totally agree! I hope I’m one of those who you loved living across the hall.

     

Leave a Reply

 
