RSS

Happy Birthday to My Dad

30 Sep

Dear Daddy,

I know you rarely read my blog, which is probably for the best with all of my Guilt-Free 3’s and pictures of sexy men.  Your little girl doesn’t think like that, right?  🙂

I want to thank you for teaching me goofy words.
For teaching me to be strong.
For taking me to the dam so I could see a “waterfall.”
For driving me over the Michigan state line so that I could say I’d been out of Ohio.
For driving all the way back to Elyria to get me a dollhouse that I pouted about.
For letting me watch WWF wrestling with you.
For playing my Michael Jackson “BAD” record over and over and over…
For taking care of me, Pete and Momma.
For helping me sneak liquor into dry weddings.
For only laughing a little when that pheasant pecked me on the head.
For moving me to and from Ashland and North Carolina and Pennsylvania, and finally back to Ohio.
For helping me buy new cars.
For fixing all of my flat tires.
For putting up with the guys I dated.
For letting me draw you like I did in elementary school.
For not letting Mom kill me when I got a tattoo.
For driving me all over the place.
For letting me drive your car when I was 16.
For helping me get unlost even though I call you from Virginia and tell you what road I’m on.
For making me wooden blocks when I was little.
For welding my name into a piece of metal.
For keeping my picture in your toolbox.

I also want to tell you that you’re the best darn daddy there ever was, and that I will never forget everything you’ve done for me.

I just wanted to wish you a happy birthday.  And I’m excited that I’ll be able to come home and share it with you!  This time last year, I was just starting my job (1 year at Foundation yesterday!), had just moved to a new place, and I wasn’t able to come home to see you.  But now I can!  So I’ll see you tonight!  HAPPY BIRTHDAY, DADDY!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2011 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Happy Birthday to My Dad

  1. Erin Seabolt Bond

    September 30, 2011 at 9:19 am

    Awwww! So wonderful.

     
    • erica42285

      September 30, 2011 at 9:42 am

      🙂 He’s such a good dad.

       

Leave a Reply

 
