RSS

What Happened to HERITAGE?!

28 Nov

So I’m back at it again.  Hyphenating in all its stupidity.

I found this article about how many children these days have to deal with hyphenated names…and even combining a mother and father’s last name to a whole brand new name.  WTF!

See what could happen?

No no no.  This is bullshit.  I’ll give you hyphenating over combining, but seriously.  Here’s what I’m thinking:  At one point, man (and I mean mankind/womankind/shut-the-hell-up-kind) decided to simplify things, to make families one, to give them the same last name.  That is why women take their husbands’ last names.  That is why children are given the same last name.

Yes, I realize that at one point, men were considered to be the superior sex.  The way I see it, men are superior at some things and women are superior at some things.  But in history, men were just considered to be superior, so they got the rights to the last name.  Big farkin’ deal.

My problem with hyphenating and combining stems from something much deeper than gender/sex arguments.  We’re losing heritage!  How the hell are those ancestry seekers going to trace their heritage if everyone goes all willy-nilly and invents and hyphenates names?  Why can’t we just follow tradition in all its simplicity and just take our husbands’ names?  I just don’t get it.  Seriously.  It’s complicating things like you wouldn’t believe.

That is all.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2011 in Domesticity

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “What Happened to HERITAGE?!

  1. Badger

    November 28, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    My mum adopted my step-dad’s last name but they added Wolff to the end of it so its a family thing, my brother added Wolff onto his last name, I have the last name on my birth certificate which is that of someone who is not related to me and the one I use is the one my mum made up when she changed her whole name but now I’m the only one in the family with it.

     
  2. Tim

    November 29, 2011 at 2:13 pm

    I would love to meet Anna at The Depot one night 🙂 Hi I’m Tim…Hi I’m Anna Wang-Holder….Feel Free!!!! :):):)

     
  3. Sebastien

    November 30, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    Hyphenation also seems to me like a very short-term solution; if the trend becomes strandard, what happens with the second generation? The third? Will the number of names included keep increasing towards infinity?

    The topic actually came up between my girlfriend and I, and felt that ultimately, if we did get married, we’d either go with me taking her last name, or her taking mine.

     
    • erica42285

      November 30, 2011 at 3:07 pm

      Kudos to you and your girlfriend, Sebastien, for not giving your children horrendously long names!

       

Leave a Reply

 
