RSS

Preparing the Liver

15 Dec

I’ll be the first to say that I didn’t train for this.  No.  In fact, I’ve been kind of sluggish about my training this year.  I haven’t drank as much as I normally do, particularly in my promise to not get drunk unless Mike is around for the entirety of my 26th year.  I admit it–my tolerance has suffered.

But this time of year is no time to be unprepared…in any aspect really.  From Drunksgiving on, your liver must be prepared.  Holidays = Excessive Drinking.

  • First o f all, you drink because of the stress of preparing for said holiday.
  • I mean, 8 hours at the mall on Black Friday and you’re damn well ready for a glass (read: bottle) of wine.
  • And there’s always a casual drink turned into a binge when you stop by old friends’ houses to visit.
  • Not to mention the appearance of Christmas Ale that we are all obligated to guzzle for its short existence each year.
  • Then there are the Christmas parties:  the company Christmas, the significant other’s family Christmas, your own Christmas.
  • Plus you feel like drinking when they’re all over!
  • And then New Year’s Eve?

My liver ought to be in tip-top shape by the time 2012 rolls around.  Maybe that’s why we do it.  So we are all prepared to survive New Year’s Eve.

I have to say that I love these parties.  Last night, my co-workers and I went to the Winking Lizard for drinks after work.  Tonight, I’m going to a cookie exchange where there will be WINE!  Friday night is the company Christmas party (hibachi and sake…YES).  Saturday is Mike’s family’s Christmas.  Pretty much going to be drunk for 4 days straight.

Bring.  It.  On.

In a slightly unrelated (and wholly related) note, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MY BROTHER JASON!  🙂  Getting old there, boy.  24.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2011 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Preparing the Liver

  1. Tim

    December 15, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    And don’t forget to stop by the CSYC when your home…I think its time for a rematch at Deal’ems…Merry Christmas!!!!!

     
    • erica42285

      December 15, 2011 at 1:52 pm

      Oh you’re on! 🙂 Merry Christmas to you, too!

       

Leave a Reply

 
