RSS

Realistic Engagement Expectations

28 Dec

Ladies, first, we do not live in the movies.  Second, we are not Kardashians (thank God).  So there’s absolutely NO reason that we should expect to get 14 carat diamonds.  I mean, they’re very welcome if we can find a guy that can give them to us, but in reality, we shouldn’t expect them.

Here’s the thing.  I’d never expect that $16,000.00 diamond from Mike.  EVER.  While I do think that today’s standards are way higher than the used to be when it comes to women expecting things out of their engagement rings, I don’t think we ought to go over the top.

All I know is that I want a ring that I will be proud to wear for the rest of my life.

And another thing…maybe some of the married guys can speak for this.  Are you really going to buy a diamond from a super-pushy sales guy?  Seriously.  When Mike and I were in there (completely unromantically minus the fact that Mike put up with the first shopping day after Christmas crowd for me) to get links taken out of my watch, and this bonehead wanted our entire life story and he yelled at Mike for not proposing yet.

1)  Not his business.

2)  Guilt doesn’t work on guys.  It just makes them uncomfortable.

Am I wrong to think this way?  I just assume that if a guy feels the stress already of picking out an engagement ring that the stress of a pushy sales douche isn’t going to help.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2011 in The Book of Love

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Realistic Engagement Expectations

  1. Mike

    December 28, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    You nailed it.

    Men do NOT want to be arm wrestled into making “the” purchase by anyone! That includes, but is not limited to, significant others, parents, relatives, friends, neighbors, pets, pet rocks, or pushy sales people. That guy should know this, is a verified idiot, and should resort to selling Encyclopedia Britannica’s to door to door to the blind!

    When it’s time, it will happen. That is not to say that we men might drag our feet…. but that being said, when the time is right it will be right 🙂

     
    • erica42285

      December 29, 2011 at 10:49 am

      You all drag your feet. 🙂

       
  2. fowlerrrrr

    December 28, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    I dont think the ring is that important honestly. I mean the ring i want when i get married is super cheap its justmeaningful bc its like the one i always wear i think the way he proposes is te important part ecause that canbe like the movies if the put some thougt into it.

     
    • erica42285

      December 29, 2011 at 10:49 am

      That’s fair. The proposal is the fun part, but the ring will last forever. 😉

       
  3. beckygermain

    December 28, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    Personally, I think we should at least like the ring we get. You have to wear it the rest of your life. I don’t have a big ring, just a band, but I like it better. I have man hands and I don’t want anything drawing attention to them, lol. However, this band was purchased many moons after our wedding and I picked it out. Talin would have FAILED with a capital F if I had let him do that on his own.

    As for pressure, I think mostly people just don’t think (Remember that time you asked me where my wedding ring was in front of a room of twenty people? LMFAO.). But pressure or no, I don’t think that should affect a guy’s decision. If he can’t figure out what he wants on his own and do it on his own terms regardless of what others might say, I wouldn’t want to be with him anyway. And if he gets uncomfortable about someone asking him about it, he should ask himself why he feels that way. I find the best way to handle uncomfortable situations is to simply tell the truth. If the truth shocks people, they usually will never ask a similar question ever again and I’ve spared thousands of other innocent conversationalists. If it doesn’t mortify them, I usually exchange numbers and email addresses with them because they have a sick sense of humor and we will probably be great friends. lol.

     
    • erica42285

      December 29, 2011 at 10:50 am

      I agree, Becky. I do want a ring I like.

      PS, I do remember asking you that! Ha ha, I’m such an Ohio girl. And I do see your point about a man figuring out what he wants, regardless of the stress.

       

Leave a Reply

 
