RSS

What to Expect When You’re Blah Blah Blah…

29 Dec

Yeah yeah yeah, you’re already offended.  Take this all with a grain of salt, as I have never been pregnant, and have never been a mother.

I don’t understand all this crazy “read every book-buy every new gadget-try every new fad” approach to parenting.  Have we not survived years without books on what to expect?  I mean, seriously, my cousins were talking about all of the things you aren’t supposed to do while you’re pregnant and my mom looked at me and said, “I did all of that…”  Then all the tests that they can do before the kid is born?  It’s crazy!

And then once that baby actually is born…it gets worse.  Baby yoga?

WTF is baby yoga?  Let the kid play and take the time to play with it.  There’s its exercise!  Not giving your kids gender roles to follow?  Not disciplining them?  Not letting them get hurt and learning what not to do?  Rushing over every time they bounce on their padded little asses?  Because society tells you to “let their children choose for themselves” and that discipline is “abuse”.  To each their own, though, I guess…

My point is, don’t get over-educated and buy into so much crap just because you “read” about it.  Instinct is good.  You don’t need a book to teach you instinct.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 29, 2011 in Raising My Youngins

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “What to Expect When You’re Blah Blah Blah…

  1. Rebecca Germain

    December 29, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    I didn’t read very much at all while pregnant. There was too much to worry about. I listened to my doctor and mother (who is a nurse) and basically just stayed away from alcohol, caffeine and strangely enough, deli meat.

    But GIIRRRLLLL, you are W-R-O-N-G about no books after that child is born. So much goes awry those first few months and you just have no idea what to do. In Luke’s first few months alive, he ate, wouldn’t eat, slept, wouldn’t sleep, cried to sleep, and cried so much he couldn’t sleep. I talked to my sister a lot for advice, but when the shit hit the fan, we both looked for answers in reasonable books. It’s just the way it goes.

    We don’t do baby yoga, but we do participate in a weekly toddler music class. Luke LOVES it. At 1 1/2 he can play harmonica pretty well and he’s a drum-masta. I guess it’s a to each his own kinda thing.

    I. Cannot. Wait. Until you have kids. 😉

     
    • erica42285

      December 29, 2011 at 2:59 pm

      Hey Beck,

      I understand turning to books for certain things. I guess I should have made that clearer. Of course there are going to be things that you look up. I just don’t understand people who LIVE by the book (baby books, that is, the big BOOK is fine), or people who refuse to use common sense. And I don’t have any problem with music class…seems to me that it makes sense that a toddler would enjoy music. I just don’t see a toddler enjoy yoga while doing the downward dog.

       
  2. Danielle

    December 29, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    I completely agree! I am sure I read some of the books but 3.5 years later I can’t tell you one thing I remember from them…

     

Leave a Reply

 
