RSS

Deal Breakers – The Intro and #1

11 Jan

When you’re dating or looking for that one you’re going to love forever, there are certain deal breakers.  With friends, not so much.  I think it’s fun to have a wide variety of friends.  But lovers…well.  Having been in 4 long-term relationships (all between 16 and 34 months), I’ve encountered my share of deal breakers.  So I thought I’d share those over the next few days.

#1  Not Believing in God

I’ve been with one man who didn’t believe in God.  It was awful.  I’m Catholic, and I’m not one of those uber-devout ones.  I go through periods of being an every-weeker to a CEC–a Christmas-Easter Catholic, but that doesn’t stop the believing.

I used to worry about finding another Catholic, but it turns out that it’s not that easy.  It turns out that I really don’t care about the denomination of the man that I love, but rather I just care that he believes in God.  So at 19 when I was dating a man who I had actually gone to Sacred Heart (a Catholic elementary school) with and he decided that he didn’t believe in God, I was lost.

After every evening I spent with him, I cried myself to sleep hoping that someday he’d find something to believe in.

We ended up breaking up–not based on this deal breaker alone.  Years later, I heard that as he stood by his grandfather’s deathbed, listened to him talk to God, and watched him slip away that he walked away a believer.

I’m happy for him.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2012 in The Book of Love

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Deal Breakers – The Intro and #1

Leave a Reply

 
