RSS

Deal Breaker # 4: Being Unable to Do What It Takes

17 Jan

Don’t worry–this isn’t a sexy blog (although you’d probably like it more if it was).

It is a pretty vague concept though.  Being unable to do what it takes.  In what, you ask?  Anything that matters.

I want someone who I know that I can rely on in any aspect.  If money was short, I’d expect my man (along with myself) to go out and find a better means of income, or at least supplementary income.  If the water heater breaks, I want him to either fix it or call someone who can.  And if my family needs him, I want him to step up.

And if all hell is breaking loose on the emotional front and the man checks out–deal breaker.  I mean, I got upset when I saw that I have a pen mark on my new Michael Kors purse, and when my internet was down the other day.  Lord–it could be anything.  But Mike does everything in his power to make me feel better, and I think that’s a real man.

I guess it seems to me that if you’re really dedicated and committed to someone, you step up and do whatever it takes to make that person’s life run easier.  And in a good relationship, you’re both doing that for each other.  It’s like Brad Paisley said, “You look at her and you finally start to live for some one else / And then you find yourself / That’s when you find yourself.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 17, 2012 in The Book of Love

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
