RSS

The Appalachian Uprising: Who’s Going With Me?!

23 Jan

Okay, so I don’t normally plan this far ahead…but I’m super excited about this.  May 31st-June1nd is the 2012 Appalachian Uprising.  And I.  Want.  To.  Go.  NOW.

Appalachian Uprising 2012

It’s in Scottown, Ohio (near where Ohio, West Virginia, and Kentucky meet) and the line-up sounds awesome:

Ricky Skaggs and Kentucky Thunder
Punch Brothers
The Infamous Stringdusters
Mountain Heart
Don Rigsby and Midnight Call
The Dave Mayfield Parade
Jessica Lea Mayfield
Melvin Goins and Windy Mountain
Johnny Staats and The Delivery Boys
Chris Jones and The Nightdrivers
The Vespers
Cumberland River Band
Sasha Colette and The Magnolias
Rumpke Mountain Boys
Atomic Duo
Billy Two Shoes
Tyler Childers

Three days of bluegrass music and dancing and whiskey!  It downright makes me miss Jenny, Lacey, and Sam.  And the Punch Brothers!  I’m so excited to see them again.  My favorite part may be, though, this:  3-Day pass AU 2012. Ticket price includes free camping, showerhouse, and parking. Kids under 12 admitted FREE with paid adult.

Free camping, free showerhouse, and free parking.  I’m sorry, but anything that offers all of that for free this day in age, I wanna go.

Now here is the dilemma:  I want to go with Mike.  I want to camp with Mike under the stars and listen to music and drink whiskey and cuddle to keep warm.  It sounds glorious.  But as Mike continues to try to get to Ohio so that we can be together, we’ve realized this:  If we purchase the tickets and he gets a new job and is unable to take time off, I’m pretty much flying solo from Thursday morning to Friday night.  😦

So I have a proposition for you.  Do not feel like you are #2 to me (you kind of are compared to Mike), but if we buy these tickets and Mike can’t go, who can buy the ticket and go with me?  Anyone?  Anyone?

Harden, Lacey, want to come up from NC?  Jenny, come from CO!  COME ON FRIENDS!

On another note, you’re all more than welcome to join us (me?) one way or another.  It’d be an honor to bluegrass with all of you.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2012 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Appalachian Uprising: Who’s Going With Me?!

Leave a Reply

 
