RSS

…I don’t have a fun fact…

01 Feb

So I’ve been doing some profiles at work and I’m asking each person to include one fun/interesting fact about themselves.  I thought, “Oh, I’ll be clever and give them an example!”

Four minutes later with my fingers poised at the keys, I had nothin’.  Then I had to show a coworker something in the reception area, came back, and still had nothing.  What is my fun fact?

I don’t run marathons.  I’m not a doting pet mother.  I don’t think I can count the fact that I was born on Earth Day because I am hardly green.  I’m a serial long-distance relationshipper…but I don’t really like that about myself.  I only went skydiving once, so I can hardly call it a hobby.  I haven’t ridden my bike in over a year because it’s at Mike’s house.  Not a movie buff, either.

Maybe it’s not about hobbies…

Let’s see.  Fun facts fun facts…  I wrote a book that I refuse to publish.  I spent wasted spent three years in North Carolina for grad school.  I’m in love with my hometown, but that sentiment is hardly elusive among the peoples.  There’s a bridge I love to visit…but no one really cares about that.  I tried to live in Pennsylvania for five months, but it didn’t work out.

I’m not crafty.  I do not write for fun anymore.  I followed the Backstreet Boys around for awhile.  I never took a cross-country trip.  I love my car, but I’m not obsessed.

So what did I end up saying for my fun fact?  That I worked my way through college at a factory making washing machines.

____________________________________________________________________________

There are fun facts about me, but the truth is that they are hardly awe-inspiring, and they are small-scale in comparison to most others.

I did love to teach.  I loved sitting in lifeguard stands at 3:00am.  I love to climb trees.  I like Roseanne.  I love getting paintings from artists I know.  I wish I were an avid quilt-maker.

I like wine…but I like cheap wine so that’s hardly impressive.  And I do not collect anything anymore (so sorry, Beanie Babies and key chains).

____________________________________________________________________________

What it comes down to is this:  I’ve been stagnant.  It’s time to up the ante and actually start finding things that I like to do…things that I can do on a regular basis, regardless of the weather or the city, of who is with me or who isn’t.  I’ve got to find something that is me…

Lord…any suggestions?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 1, 2012 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “…I don’t have a fun fact…

  1. Seth

    February 1, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    Uhmm, hello? Youve maintained this blog for how long? Fun fact found.

     
    • erica42285

      February 1, 2012 at 3:51 pm

      Lots of people maintain blogs for a long time, though. It’s not really something that stands out.

       
  2. Jerry Pope

    February 1, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    Your concern about a lack of fun facts reminds me of those New Yorkers who realize they’ve never been to any of the tourist spots. You don’t need to jump out of airplanes or visit the Statue of Liberty. You have a beautiful soul and an honest personality. You aren’t a tourist or poser. If you want to up the ante, then I suggest you use your gifts. Your blog is awesome because of your soul and honesty. You’ve touched many lives with your teaching too. Want to walk on the wild side? Write a new book and teach again.

     
    • erica42285

      February 2, 2012 at 9:13 am

      Teaching is easier said than done. I don’t have time and resources to do it, and it certainly doesn’t pay the bills. Writing…we’ll see. I’m hardly ever home enough to write. But perhaps you’re onto something.

      And Jerry, thank you so much for the kind words. I appreciate them and truly miss seeing you on a regular basis.

       

Leave a Reply

 
