RSS

Itching for Some Fremont Fun

07 Mar

It never fails.  As soon as I get a taste of warm weather, I want to go home.  

I want to drive the back roads to Fremont with my windows down, with country music on the radio and a bottle of Diet Pepsi next to me.

I want flip-flops and jeans that are too long.

I want brown skin and messy hair tamed only by a bandana.

I want to smell Heinz ketchup in the air from the factory on 6th and sugar beets from the hill by the fairgrounds.

I want to hear sprint cars revving and beer cans cracking.

I want the cloud spewing from the top of Davis-Besse to be visible on the horizon from Cole Road.

I want to hear my footfalls on the familiar block I run in the sun.

I want Root’s chicken sandwiches and Depot Pizza.

I want to end up at a bonfire and to watch the smoke disappear into the stars.

Mostly, though, I just want to drive.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2012 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Itching for Some Fremont Fun

  1. Tim

    March 7, 2012 at 1:02 pm

    I can’t believe the CSYC didn’t make this list 🙂

     
    • erica42285

      March 7, 2012 at 4:34 pm

      Oh it’s important! I was goin’ back into time before I knew about the CSYC. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
