RSS

From a Non-Parent to Parents

13 Mar

Note:  I know I said I would post wedding photos last night…but it just didn’t happen.  My apologies.  They will be up here eventually.  I swear it (do you trust me?).

But I did want to discuss this whole parenting thing again.  I know I went through a whole series on raising my youngins.  In my head, I have a clear picture of what I think is important in raising childrenwhat I will do, what I want do, how I want them to behave.

But the truth is this:  I am not a parent.  As desperately as I would love to be one right now, it’s just not in the cards until Mike gets here and I get married.  But I came across this gem of an article called “Apologies to the Parents I Judged Four Years Ago”.

In the article, Kara Gebhart Uhl talks about how she said she would use cloth diapers, and how she judged folks who let their kids watch Nick Jr. all day and fed their children McNuggets.

Here’s an excerpt:

Pre-children: I was going to cloth diaper.
Post-children: I did with my daughter, sort of, but not with my twins.

Pre-children: No TV until age of 2 and then only 30 minutes a day.
Post-children: Ha.

Pre-children: Only organic, healthy, homemade food.
Post-children: My kids love Wendy’s.

Pre-children: Public tantrums are unacceptable.
Post-children: Removal of the child is only sometimes doable; predicting when a tantrum is going to strike is often impossible.

Pre-children: Complaints about childrearing and its hardships annoyed me (this was your choice, no?) and saddened me (parenthood is supposed to be a wonderful thing!).
Post-children: Parenthood isn’t wonderful 100 percent of the time.

I was intrigued by this article for obvious reasons…but I felt so…opposite.

You see, I do judge parents (even as a non-parent) right now.  But I don’t judge them for the same things that Kara does.  I judge them for trying to feed children all-organic, all-the-time.  I judge the parents who don’t let their kids play in the dirt.  I get angry whenever they rush over to a kid who’s fallen lightly on his padded little ass and is obviously not hurt at all.

I judge parents for being unrealistic.  Maybe, just maybe, because of this, I won’t be so shocked when I have children.  I hope I don’t judge wrongly.  I probably do though.

You’re the parents…tell me.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2012 in Raising My Youngins

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “From a Non-Parent to Parents

  1. Greg Barnes

    March 13, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    “I judge them for trying to feed children all-organic, all-the-time. I judge the parents who don’t let their kids play in the dirt. I get angry whenever they rush over to a kid who’s fallen lightly on his padded little ass and is obviously not hurt at all.” ~ You’re on the right track, Erica!

     
  2. Danielle

    March 13, 2012 at 12:23 pm

    My kid gets dirty. He eats fast food. I even let him eat candy..gasp!!!! He “hurts” himself and acts dramatic. I give it a kiss and tell him to walk it off.

    I have to say we’ve done pretty good in becoming responsible, healthy, smart adults. I never heard my mom talking about organic. Just saying.

     
  3. MattA

    March 13, 2012 at 9:05 pm

    Look at my son, he picks his nose during weddings, runs around the house naked most of the time, but I dont think of myself as a bad father. You just learn with parenthood and marriage to choose your battles, love the and laugh like hell when they do something funny or stupid.

     
    • erica42285

      March 14, 2012 at 9:35 am

      Oh Matt–Grant’s a helluva kid. 🙂 I wouldn’t worry a stitch about him and I think you and Heidi are fantastic parents!

       

Leave a Reply

 
