RSS

Why It’s Okay for Men to Stare at Women

27 Mar

YES.  If you’ll remember my catcalling post, you can probably assume that I’m on board with this article.

“Why men can’t–and shouldn’t–stop staring at women”

Why are men looked down upon for looking at women?  Why do they feel ashamed if they’re caught?  I know that if I catch a man looking at me, I’m not offended–I’m rather flattered.  Hell, I’m flattered when I catch Mike looking at me.

So why is there such a stigma?  Even if the guys are older (as in the case of this article), just because they’re looking at a woman doesn’t mean that they’re going to sexually assault her.  They’re just giving recognition to a woman that they find attractive.  Big deal?  Absolutely–in the very best way.

Part of the reason men are questioning whether or not they’re pervs for looking at women?  I agree with “Y”:  “The problem for us as men is that we’re in the wrong culture, and we’re men at the wrong time. We’re not a culture that empowers men with casual sensuality.”

And quite possibly my favorite paragraph:  “I’m about to leave when Z tosses me a last thought. ‘Some women assume the male gaze is sinful and hurtful and evil, that men can never look at women in a different way. But that’s not what the gaze is about. Because a sophisticated man would not hesitate to gaze, and then he might be filled with regret and loss, and therefore gain self-knowledge.'”

Look on, men.  Look on.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 27, 2012 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
