RSS

How to Name Your Nugget

03 Apr

First of all–new look to the blog.  You dig?  🙂

Alright, so yesterday in my rant about dead barn cats, I promised to talk about what should go into naming your nugget.  And for those of you who are confused, nuggets are children–from the infant stage to about 3 years old.

But you’re not naming a 3-year-old!  You’re naming infant nuggets, right?  So how do you go about it?  How can you pick the right name?  Is there a right name?  I’m having a panic attack and I’m not even pregnant.

There’s so much to think about–so here’s my advice when picking out a name for your nugget:

Think about whether you really like the name, or it’s a fad. I can’t stand these people naming their children “Bella” and “Edward” simply because they’re Twilight fans…plus, I can’t think of a guy who would let them happen, but apparently, and sadly, it happens.  I was named after Susan Lucci’s character Erica Kane on All My Children...  Ha ha thanks, Ma.  But don’t name them after a fad!  Even if their generation won’t know what the heck movie you are talking about.

Will the name be easy to make fun of?  Because if it is possible to make an mean joke about a name, kids will do it.  And while the possibility of a mean name isn’t a reason to ditch a name completely, it has to be something you think about.

Will the kid have a nickname?  If you name your kid Maximillian, chances are he’s going to be called “Max”.   Think about the ways that the name can be abbreviated…and if you want to start your family and friends calling the kid a nickname.  My very wonderful Jenny’s name isn’t Jenny at all.  In fact, it’s Jean–but very few people call her that.  Think about it!

How will it sound with a middle name that you may be obligated to use?  Middle name, first name, sometimes you just have to pay homage to a relative.  Sometimes that’s good, sometimes that’s bad.  Regardless, think about this.

How will it sound with the kid’s last name?  That’s important!  Even if you like the name Robert, it may not be smart to name a kid Robert Roberts.  See my second point.

What does the name mean…and does that actually have an affect on what the kid is like?  I’m torn on this.  I watch Legends of the Fall and think, “I’m so naming my son ‘Tristan.'”  But then I see kids named Tristan that are the complete opposite of tough–in fact, they’re pretty wimpy.  And I want a tough little boy!  Unfortunately, I don’t think the meaning of a name really changes how a kid acts or grows up–unless the kid is constantly made fun of for the name.

My name means “honorable ruler.”  I like to think I’m honorable…but I’m not sure I can say I’m a ruler.  I do think that name meanings are cool, though, and sometimes knowing what your name means really does make you want to embody that.

So that’s what I’ve got for you on naming your nuggets.  With that said, I already have my children named.  And no–I won’t tell you what they are because you preggers will steal them. 😉

Cheers!  And let me know what you think of the new bloggity!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2012 in Raising My Youngins

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “How to Name Your Nugget

  1. The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife

    April 3, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    ok… so i was totally going to name my son tristan for the longest time after watching brad pitt in legends of the fall. i think it has become a girl’s name, though, and have since changed my mind.

     
  2. erica42285

    April 3, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    Ha ha I was, too! It was so easy to think that all Tristans would be like that… I like it much better as a girl’s name. Why’d you change your mind?

     

Leave a Reply

 
