RSS

Making a Change – Simple

09 Apr

Remember when I kept saying that I didn’t know who I was anymore?  That I had no “thing”, no real sense of style, no sense of meaning.  Remember when I said that music didn’t touch me anymore?  (Shut up, pervs.)

I think I’ve sat idle long enough.  I think it’s time to make a conscious choice.  I need to quit dilly-dallying and going all willy-nilly with everything (God, I miss Joe Mackall).

I’m going simple.  SIMPLE.  Where did this come from?  Well…I like simple.  “What about the purses you buy, Erica,” you ask?  Well, that’s part of what makes my “simple” unconventional.

It all started when I was thinking about my wedding.  I love glamour, and I love glitz…but it’s so impractical.  I keep thinking about how I want my friends and family to have fun at my wedding–not to have to worry about being proper and behaving themselves.  I want it to be WILD.  And I don’t want to have to worry about the bottom of my dress getting dirty as I dance on a barn floor, or run outside into the dewy grass to kiss my husband.

“But don’t you want a huge wedding ring, Erica?” you ask?  Why yes, but that’s okay.  And you’re still thinking about that purse, aren’t you?  Well, here’s my thing–I think every woman should have a few “passions” that cost insane amounts of money–fancy purses, perfume counter make-up, expensive hair appointments, massages…

I’ll buy all my clothes at Target, and I can be as cheap as can be…but you can bet your ass I love my Michael Kors purse.  And with the wedding ring?  Sure, I want a really nice one because I’m going to wear it every day for the rest of my life.  I’ll do the wedding on the cheap, but that’s because it only lasts one day.  A ring is forever.

Where was I going with this?

OH, the simple life.  I’m going to channel my Jenny from far far away (Forrest Gump, anyone?) and live the simple life.  I’m going to enjoy driving, and I’m not going to worry about crap all the time.  I’m going to camp, and eat simply, and run simply, and oh yeah, the music thing.

Remember my Guilt-Free Three of Folk Singers?  Well that’s because they’re hot for one thing, but DAMN…that music!  I can’t get over it.

It fits what I’m doing here.  Really.

Wow–this is rambly.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 9, 2012 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
