RSS

Desperate Attempt to Return to My Adolescence

11 Apr

I am ashamed to admit this…  But apparently not ashamed enough to tell you.

Last night, in a desperate attempt to return to my adolescence, I got on the internet and searched “Backstreet Boys Fanfiction”.  You see, in junior high, I was the textbook example of a teenybopper.  There was no “Team Edward” “Team Jacob” bullshit.  You were either a Backstreet Boys fan, or an N*Sync fan.

I was full-on BSB.  My friend Caitlin and I ate, drank, and slept BSB.  We went to concerts, recorded TV appearances, watched TRL on the phone together.  We stole a banner (I need to find that in my parents’ basement) and even went so far as to chase their tour bus on foot…  I’m not proud of that.

But we had a notebook that we passed back and forth in the hallways of our junior high.  This notebook was filled with (obviously) fictional stories about Nick Carter, Brian Littrell, and Caitlin and me.  They were all fairly innocent, consistently ending on a yacht in Florida during my marriage to Nick and Caitie’s marriage to Brian.

Then I started turning to the interwebs to see what else people were writing about the Backstreet Boys–and my mind was blown.  People wrote DIRTY stories about the BSB.  And on top of that (haha) people wrote slash fanfiction about them (slash = guy on guy in the fanfic world)!  I was appalled.  That’s not to say that I didn’t read some of the dirty BSB stories.  I credit much of my sexual education to online fanfiction.

Obviously, the BSB fell off the map, and I grew up and just started buying Harlequin romance novels.  But last night, I wanted to read about the good ole Backstreet Boys.  And to my HUGE disappointment…there is hardly any fanfiction left about them!

It’s probably been about 12 years since I last searched it.  Crazy how the internet changes.  And crazy how things you never thought would disappear…do.

PS, you can laugh at me.  I did.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 11, 2012 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Desperate Attempt to Return to My Adolescence

  1. Christopher

    April 11, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    HAHAHAHAHAHA!
    That being said, I attempt to do something to attempt to recapture my angst-y teenage years about once a month. It usually just turns into a day of listening to The Offspring and Blink 182.
    Hehe…
    You kill me.

     
    • erica42285

      April 11, 2012 at 3:30 pm

      🙂 Well well well, I’m not the only nostalgic one! Ha ha ha

      I dig The Offspring and Blink 182. Music isn’t what it used to be.

       
      • Christopher

        April 11, 2012 at 3:45 pm

        Pshh. Obviously. Certain genres have gone down a road that I think they wish they hadn’t. Pop is all over produced, auto-tuned crap. At least before, they sang the stuff, even if they didn’t write it or play instruments. Rock and Hard Rock have kind of fused leaving only this generic, kind heavy-ish sound and then the next step up from that is like, speed metal or death metal. No real in between.

         
  2. Jessica Fowler

    April 17, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    Team Nsync!

     

Leave a Reply

 
