RSS

The Case of the Missing Cardinals

16 Apr

I was a lil nervous.  I hadn’t seen a cardinal in a really long time, and if you’ll remember, I believe my late Uncle Grandma comes around me in the form of a cardinal.  After Mike interviewed for a job here, she disappeared.  Of course I wanted to think (and still think) that she was doing work.  I think she must have been pulling magical strings trying to get my darling boyfriend to me.

But I got nervous.  The fact that she came around was the only thing that calmed me from my panic attacks.  So when she quit coming around, I started looking for reasons.

I’m glad to say that the streak is over.  I was on a run yesterday in Fremont, and the wind was ridiculous and it was muggy and I felt like crap.  I didn’t want to go any further.  I got to the point in my track where I could take a shortcut back home…but as I went to turn, I heard the chirping.  I turned, and against the bark of a maple standing on a branch was the most brilliant red cardinal.  BRILLIANT.

I’m going to say it’s safe to assume that she was telling me not to give up on my run, or on the fact that Mike will get here.  So I took the long way on the trail and saw two more cardinals along the way.

I tried to take a picture, but she kept fluttering away.  I guess it’s not something you can capture by hand or by film…but I feel better.

So I’ll pray this week that Mike hears back and that Uncle Grandma’s absence was warranted.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2012 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “The Case of the Missing Cardinals

  1. Christopher

    April 16, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    Gotta be a sign. Sometimes I see cardinals out my back window at home. Maybe she comes to visit my neck of the woods once in a while.

     
  2. Tim

    April 16, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    there are plenty of Cardinals at the CSYC….they live in my bushes….they’re always in the yard 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
