RSS

HOW TERRIFYING (read: Stupid Alarmists)

19 Apr

Hello to all the Alarmist Helicopter parents out there.  How are you?  Oh, you’re stressed out?  What happened?  Let me guess–your kid got some mud under her fingernails…or she played on a playground without something soft for her to land on should she take a tumble.

I feel like Sue Sylvester would have a lot to say about this.

KIDS ARE KIDS!  Not porcelain.  Unless you’re “Kurt” from Glee, and let’s be honest–he’s pretty amazingly tough.  Kids are tough, and they’re bouncy and bendable and they do not need to be coddled 100% of the time.

I came across this article today containing photos of kids doing what kids should be doing.  Games that are considered–by today’s standards–dangerous and terrifying!  All photos are property of Getty Images as published on the Daily Mail’s website.  

Helicopter Mom: "Basketball on roller skates? You'll crack your head open!"

Only two on the teeter-totter at once? What fun is that?

This looks like a fark of a lot of fun.

I don't know what this thing is...but I feel like I would have had a lot of fun on it.

Fighting is a part of life. Builds character, and makes you much less of a wimp.

What if she falls? She'll laugh, get up, and do it again.

I don't know what this is...but I'm buying my kids one.

Cool parents actually get on and ride along.

I recall the jungle gym/monkey bars. My favorite part of recess.

Remember, parents.  Kids are bendy.  They’re not going to break.  And if they do, God forbid they get to wear a super cool cast on their right forearm for a few months and have all their little friends sign it and be the envy of the entire school.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 19, 2012 in Raising My Youngins

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “HOW TERRIFYING (read: Stupid Alarmists)

  1. Greg Barnes

    April 19, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    These children should all have some version of this: http://www.amazon.com/Thudguard-Protective-Safety-Helmet-Blue/dp/B001OWCOTS

     
  2. Christopher

    April 19, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    As long as there are no (real) guns or knives involved, and no one is attempting to jump off of a roof or anything, I’m sure they’ll be fine. I want to think that if my kids suggested basketball on roller skates, my reaction would be more along the lines of, “I wish I could do that, I’d die if I tried that at my age.”

     

Leave a Reply

 
