RSS

When the Hell Did I Get So Boring and Twitchy?

26 Apr

I was talking with my friend Chris today and we both agree that our late 20’s are kind of shitty.  I can’t get in the same town as Mike and Chris is looking to catch a break in more than a few ways.

And I’m so damn worried about the future that quite frankly, I’ve turned into a royal curmudgeon.  So much so, in fact, that my left eye has not stopped twitching for weeks.  TWITCHY CURMUDGEON!

I rarely go out during the week with my coworkers…and if I do, I’m usually pretty lame.  You can ask them.  They will tell you the same.

I didn’t want to celebrate my birthday.  I got cranky about my oil change.  I pouted about living alone when I had to kill a spider.  I get pissy because I can’t decorate my apartment (if I can’t paint, then why even bother?).  Then I get pissier because I don’t want to live in an apartment and I want a backyard.

It never ends.  I’m boring.  I’ve lost my excitement about “right now” because I’m so worried about the future.  I’m going to try to change that…

If you catch me being a curmudgeon, smack me and tell me to snap out of it.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2012 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “When the Hell Did I Get So Boring and Twitchy?

  1. erinseaboltbond

    April 26, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    Haha, I’m sure you’re not a curmudgeon! But I can definitely relate to the statement about our 20s. It’s a really really weird decade. So much change, so many transitions–not to mention slowing metabolisms! 🙂 I’m hoping my 30s will be a more powerful decade. I’m ready to leave the 20s and all their uncertainty and instability behind. Or maybe I’m just becoming more realistic with my expectations, and my 20s were the years I had unrealistic ideas of what life would be like and then subsequently had my perspective kicked around enough until I finally accepted that all the wild ideas I had during college aren’t necessarily going to happen… (Wow. Who sounds like the curmudgeon now? Jeez.)

     
    • erica42285

      April 26, 2012 at 12:55 pm

      Thanks for empathizing, Erin! I never had huge or unrealistic dreams. I just want the boy I love in the same town as me, and to have a family. That’s all I want.

       
  2. Christopher

    April 26, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    I don’t see what the problem is here. Most days I enjoy my slow descent into “You damn kids! Get off my lawn!” territory.
    Embrace the Dark Side. Let your negative emotions take over!

     
  3. Tim

    April 26, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    Frequent visits to the CSYC will calm you’re anxiety!!!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
