RSS

And Then Came the Lightning

08 May

I really didn’t want to play softball last night.  I drove to the fields and I was sitting in my car just praying for rain as I watched black clouds roll past my moon roof.  And nothing.

But at 8:15, everything let loose and there was cloud to ground lightning all over the place.  I was so thankful that the games were cancelled.

For the longest time, lightning and severe storms have fascinated me.  When I was younger, my cousin Meghan and I would sit in my father’s Jeep Wrangler, parked in the gravel driveway of my grandparents’ farm in Clyde.  We had just seen Twister and we were hooked.  We were storm chasers, and we chased tornadoes.

Ever since then, I’ve been the girl in the front yard waiting for the lightning to flash across the sky, or a strange cloud formation.  I want to be Jo Harding sometimes.

Wouldn’t hurt to have Bill Paxton, either. 😉

There’s a man from my hometown that chases tornadoes named Allan Detrich.  Someday, I think it’d be fun to go along with him.  Maybe when I die, his team will fulfill my wishes to be sucked up into a tornado. Ha ha maybe not…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 8, 2012 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
