RSS

Sure, I’ll Talk About Amendment One in NC

09 May

But only because I’m a former resident.

I think you all know how I felt about my time in Wilmington, North Carolina.  I enjoyed certain parts of it, but when it came down to brass tracks, I always wanted to go home to the north coast, to Ohio.

I was continuously yelled at and reprimanded for my views, for the men that I dated, for the way I asked about the gender of an unborn child.  My views on sunscreen and the word gypped pissed people off.  Wilmington, North Carolina was a little too willy-nilly for me…and it’s apparently one of the more liberal towns.  Yet everything I said was judged and taken to be offensive, when it reality I think more tolerance could have been practiced.

I’m told that I’d love the western part of the state…which is where I think the majority of the 60% that turned down gay marriage live.  Perhaps I would like some parts of western NC, but I belong in the North.

Sure, I’ll lose some followers when I say this, but I think it’s worth being said.  While I am conservative in many aspects of my life (government, money, etc.), I am much more liberal in the social aspect of things.  And while I may not be way off to the left socially, I do believe that we need to loosen up.

So when Amendment One passed in North Carolina yesterday, I can honestly say I felt some sadness.  I knew plenty of gay and lesbian couples when I lived there.  And while I refuse to get preachy and talk about rights, I will say that I have no problem with the civil union of gay and lesbian couples.  Now, I will also say this–I was raised a Catholic…and I am a conservative…and I AM from Ohio.  It would be dishonest of me to not say that the thought of church weddings in this respect does make me a little antsy.  But gay marriage in general does not.

My friend Daniel married his partner of 15 years on May 8th, 2012 in Washington, DC.  It wasn’t a destination wedding for fun–it was a destination wedding born out of necessity.  And that kinda sucks.

I’m very happy for Daniel and Ben, and for any couple that can unite in love legally.  Someday there will be tolerance.  I believe that whole-heartedly.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2012 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Sure, I’ll Talk About Amendment One in NC

  1. Tim

    May 9, 2012 at 9:03 am

    I agree Erica…I myself am somewhat of a conservative in my political view but liberal in my social beliefs….probably why I consider myself as an independent rather than take a political side. But I do believe this; whether you are gay/lesbian, white/black, or another category or label tat society puts on you….these are ALL issues of discrimination. It annoys me when they say civil unions are an attack on marriage. Hell marriage itself is an attack….when over half fail!

    Who is civil unions hurting…who? It kills me when I hear that. Whats it hurting??? Why is it someone else business what someone chooses to do…

     
  2. erinseaboltbond

    May 9, 2012 at 10:24 am

    You know, I really think you’re right that we could all use a healthy dose of “calm down.” Tensions are so high here right now. But in general–even when we’re not in the middle of a huge voting debacle–we’re all very easily offended, and that makes it impossible to talk about issues that are a little tricky. And if we can’t talk about them, we end up polarized. And that’s never good. I wish we had a better way for everyone to come together and find common ground. (ALSO, I MISS YOU. Just saying. I wish we had hung out more while we actually lived in the same city.)

     
    • erica42285

      May 9, 2012 at 10:36 am

      I miss you, too! I wish we would have hung out more, too. I can honestly say that you were/are one of my favorite people that I met during those three years in NC. 🙂

      I agree with your points–everyone kind of seemed on edge in ILM, no matter what issues were in the air. I wish people could talk without fighting. I wish that about everywhere.

      Let’s talk soon–if nothing else just to catch up via another medium other than blogs.

       

Leave a Reply

 
