RSS

On Running…

11 May

I’ve talked about running before.

Let me make it clear that I am by no means a “runner”.  I run.  But I am not a runner.  It’s kind of like “I write, but I am not a writer.”  You can ask me about that another day.

Lots of people at my work run, and they enter raises, and they go long distances, and I’m impressed.  They train, and they have the drive to do this type of stuff.

Me, on the other hand, I don’t have that drive.  My drive to run is based solely on making my body smaller and healthier.  So I do not enter races, and I run about 4-5 miles a night.  That’s it.

One of my past professors, dear friend, and overall one of my favorite people ever, is a runner.  Hardcore.  For years, he has wanted to take me to get fitted for proper running shoes–and I am finally going to go.  My ankles and knees are achy.  I think it’s time.

Maybe this will change my stance on running.  But for now, it’s just a way to stay healthy.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 11, 2012 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “On Running…

  1. ahamin

    May 11, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    I sometimes think of running as meditation… best of my ideas came during running, mostly because I doze off, giving my subconscious a chance to form ideas. Best ideas came from the subconscious, since our conscious is busy with our reality 🙂
    Good luck

     
  2. beckygermain

    May 14, 2012 at 5:31 am

    I’m not a runner either. And I haven’t run in about 6 months (long story), but I do get fitted for proper running shoes and they will change your life and reduce your likelihood of getting arthritis in your knees later. They also reduced my shin splints to nothing. All that said, they are expensive ( I require inserts plus the shoes). But I still highly recommend them. And also entering a 5K every once in a while. It spices things up.

     

Leave a Reply

 
