RSS

Fleeting Songs Meant More

01 Jun

I clearly remember pulling into a parking spot outside of my brother’s first tee ball game.  It was 1994, and “I Swear” by All 4 One had just been released.  And I loved it.  The song had been in my head for days, and as we were pulling into the parking lot, it magically came on the radio.

I begged my mother to leave my 9-year-old self alone in the car, to listen to the song for three blissful minutes, to just let me listen.  I didn’t have the CD or the cassette…I’m not even sure if at 9, I had a means to play either.  But I know that I needed to hear that song.

It’s been like that with multiple songs, mostly throughout the 1990’s.  We never just YouTubed a song–we waited, in the morning videos of MTV and VH1, but more commonly, the radio.  Each song was a shooting star, a fleeting moment that we caught by chance and truly cherished.  Now, any song we want is at our fingertips and achieved within seconds.

I’m not saying that I don’t totally appreciate the ability to YouTube a song, or to download it or put it on my iPod to play in my car…  I’m just saying that I was a lot more appreciative of music when I didn’t have such easy access to it.

I remember waiting for “I’m Like a Bird” by Nelly Furtado, “Hotel California” by the Eagles, “Mo Money Mo Problems” by Biggie.  And you know what?  These are the songs that hold the biggest spots in my heart because I always made sure I remember where I was when I heard them the first time.

This still happens…just rarely.  Like Mike and I leaning against the brick wall of the Reel Cafe in Wilmington while a band played “Melissa” by The Allman Brothers.  That song still gives me chills.

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 1, 2012 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Fleeting Songs Meant More

  1. Jaclene

    June 1, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    This is so true… to this day when a certain song comes on the radio that I use to live to hear in Jr. High I still flashback to that moment…. I remember buying the single of certain songs because the entire CD was too much and for like 2 bucks you could buy the single and I would play it on repeat over and over again…. needless to say the CD didnt last long once it became all scratched up…

     

Leave a Reply

 
