RSS

Breaking the Silence for a Pressing Matter: Cursive

10 Jul

I’m not sure if I’ve written about this before, or if I’ve just yelled violently in my head about the disappearance of the art of cursive.  It IS an art, too.

I remember learning to write cursive on lined paper in first grade.  Mrs. Baker taught me to point the left bottom corner of the paper toward my belly button to get that great slant.  Throughout elementary school, I began to perfect the art.  I spent hours getting the slant down, writing the alphabet, penning pages and pages and pages away in my journal.  I wanted to be able to write.

Hundreds of Erica Brindleys were scrawled across the margins of my notebooks as I perfected my signature.  And the first time I signed a check, I felt empowered.

Currently, 45 out of 50 states have banished cursive from their curriculum.

Breaks my damn heart.  Jen Doll says it better.  And Judith Thurman says it best.  Teach your kids cursive.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 10, 2012 in Daily Happenings

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
