RSS

I’m getting MARRIED!

29 Oct

My days of being a housegirlfriend are now limited.  Less than a year!  Then I make the upgrade to HOUSEWIFE!

That’s right, everyone!  Mike popped the question–and I said yes!

Here’s how it went down:  It was last Thursday, and Mike said he’d been wanting to go up to the lake and out to eat at this place in Westlake.  It was 80 degrees, so we took advantage of the night and decided to go.  We got in the car and about halfway there, Mike said, “Oh, I forgot.  I made you a mix.”  He started playing all these songs, and I noticed that there were notes going across the screen from Mike to me.

When we got to Huntington Beach (Ohio, people–not California), we walked out onto a jetty and watched the planes circle Cleveland.  It was really beautiful.  Then we walked up to the water tower and looked out over Lake Erie.  When we got back into the car, Mike turned the mix back on.

Here’s the thing…  When we were living in Wilmington, NC, this is how we spent most of our dates–in a car, listening to music and drinking McDonald’s coffees.  That’s where he’d given me the first playlist.  And this is where we first met by the water to learn about each other.

Here’s the other thing.  About two years ago, Mike and I were listening to songs, and an instrumental piece came on.  Immediately, I said, “This is the song I want to walk down the aisle to.”  He kind of laughed it off, but I never forgot.

Apparently, neither did he.  Because back in the in the car, about halfway through a song, Mike got out, claiming he had a CD case in the trunk for the mix.  Then the song started playing, the one I said I wanted to walk down the aisle to…and all the sudden, Mike was on my side of the car, the door open, and down on one knee.  And as the music picked up, I realized what he was doing.  He started talking to me, and I started crying.  I kept kissing him before he was done talking…

I saw the ring in his hands, but I couldn’t take my eyes off of him.  And then he asked me to marry him.  I nodded, fumbled, cried.  Then I jumped up and threw my arms around him, and for about 15 minutes, we stood in the parking lot.  Me jumping around, Mike smiling, us holding onto one another.

After that, we began what we like to call our Engagement Tour.  We drove to Fremont to tell my parents, and the next day, we drove to PA to tell Mike’s parents.  🙂  It was PERFECT.  We’re still floating.

This is my ring!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2012 in The Book of Love

 

9 responses to “I’m getting MARRIED!

  1. hardenrives

    October 29, 2012 at 12:04 pm

    I think a lot of people probably thought you were kidding since you played the engagement prank on us before. But I am SOOOOOOOOO excited!

     
  2. Danielle

    October 29, 2012 at 1:37 pm

    I’m not sure how many times I can say how excited I am for you 🙂 I do have to say I wish Mike would have hired me to record it all 😉 Once again, Congrats!!!

     
  3. Aimee

    October 29, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    SO excited for you! Wish I could have seen you guys this weekend, but hopefully soon! Ps love the ring!! I love that its different and interesting while not being gawdy haha

     
  4. Jessica Fowler

    October 29, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    this melts my heart strings!!!!!! sooooooooooooo excited. and FINALLY!!!!!

     
  5. Jess Shotts

    October 29, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    🙂 was wondering how it all happened congrats, so happy for the both of u!!!

     
  6. Charlene

    October 29, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    So very Happy for Both of you! So excited!

     
  7. Patricia Bjorklund

    October 29, 2012 at 9:43 pm

    Oh bliss! I am happy for you both–a sparkling couple you are.

     
  8. erin brunner

    October 30, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    congrats Ca i am so happy for you!!!!!!

     
  9. Tundra Bum

    November 15, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    Champagne for all!
    Congrats.

     

Leave a Reply

 
