RSS

On Raising Nuggets

09 May

Header-01

The other day, Mike and I were walking around Lake Medina and he said, “Do you know what you’re supposed to do if a baby drops a pacifier?”

I thought back to what my parents did.  Immediately, I said, “Probably stick it in my own mouth and then give it back to the baby.”  I felt gross for saying it, but Mike laughed a little.  Earlier in the day, he’d read this study about what to do if a pacifier falls onto the ground.  It turns out that my answer, mouth cleaning it, is best for baby.

Why?

It reduces a baby’s risk of developing allergies–among other benefits.  Immediately, I thought, “Well, I’m sure it helps build immunity.”  And then I began to think about my conspiracy theories about hand sanitizer and sunscreen–oddly enough which I’ve never wrote about here.

I am an avid disbeliever in hand sanitizer.  We got along just fine for a lot of years without putting an alcohol mixture on our hands every 15 minutes.  I think it, like a super clean paci, weakens the immune system.  If your body is never exposed to germs, it can’t learn to fight against them.  There’s nothing wrong with soap…once in awhile…not compulsively.  And there’s nothing wrong with eating a little dirt.  I ate dirt up into my 20s when I sat at the Fremont Speedway eating track dust.  Not trying to curse myself, but I don’t get flu shots, and I haven’t been sick in years.

Powerhouse immune system.

And sunscreen?  Who thought it was a good idea to block sunlight and the production of Vitamin D–necessities for the human body?  Sure, you should limit your exposure to the sun, but not block it out completely!  My grandparents were farmers that worked in the fields for hours a day and never wore sunscreen, and I rarely hear of any older person having skin cancer.  It’s because they built up a tolerance to it.

According to Natural News, deficiency or insufficiency of natural sunlight and vitamin D has been associated with the following conditions:

  • * adrenal insufficiency
  • * Alzheimer’s
  • * allergies
  • * autoimmune disorders including multiple sclerosis and rheumatoid arthritis
  • * cancers of the colon, breast, skin and prostate
  • * depression, seasonal affective disorder (SAD)
  • * diabetes, Type 1 and 2
  • * gluten intolerance, lectin intolerance
  • * heart disease, hypertension, Syndrome X
  • * infertility, sexual dysfunction
  • * learning and behavior disorders
  • * misaligned teeth and cavities
  • * obesity
  • * osteopenia, osteoporosis, osteomalacia (adult rickets)
  • * Parkinson’s
  • * PMS
  • * psoriasis

Now, I’m not some damn hippie who believes in all natural remedies.  I think scientific medicine is fantastic and I use it–not overuse it, but use it–but come on!  Get your asses in the sun.  Maybe it’ll make people less asshole-y.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 9, 2013 in Raising My Youngins

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
